Review: Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices 1) by Cassandra Clare

clockworkangel

Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices #1)
by Cassandra Clare

officialsynopMagic is dangerous; but love is more dangerous still.

In a time when Shadowhunters are barely winning the fight against the forces of darkness, one battle will change the course of history forever. Welcome to the Infernal Devices trilogy, a stunning and dangerous prequel to the New York Times bestselling Mortal Instruments series.

The year is 1878. Tessa Gray descends into London’s dark supernatural underworld in search of her missing brother. She soon discovers that her only allies are the demon-slaying Shadowhunters; including Will and Jem, the mysterious boys she is attracted to. Soon they find themselves up against the Pandemonium Club, a secret organization of vampires, demons, warlocks, and humans.

Equipped with a magical army of unstoppable clockwork creatures, the Club is out to rule the British Empire, and only Tessa and her allies can stop them..


officialreview– First update (April 18)

This is me right now..

Will do a better and coherent review later.. I promise… Allow me to ease back and relax first…

OKay?


—- Update April 21 —
I finally got my bearings, so let’s continue with my raving..

My cousin Cherry thought I was being generous for giving out 5 stars easily to books I read. If only she knew the brain freeze I had to go through whenever I write reviews and decide which one deserves to be put on the honor roll and determine how many stars to give a book. This Infernal Devices, however, easily crawled into my heart and won me over after Jem Carstairs smirked and rolled his eyes on Will Herondale. Yep, I’m Team Jem, everyone… so hold on to your horses.

I’ve read the Moral Instruments series (City of Bones, Ashes, Glass,, Fallen Angels… I’m yet to read the last two) and Cassandra Clare surely impressed me with her writing and world building. I do not care much about the issues being thrown at her (like plagiarism and sudden outbursts on Twitter and her legion of bashers/haters). What is important is, I was mesmerized with her creativity and power of persuasion. Maybe she’s a Shadow Hunter herself, who knows?

catid

Anyway, with Clockwork Angel, I literally freaked out because I thought this one’s not gonna live up to its predecessor. TMI is hugely successful and I expected even more from TID. And I was not disappointed. Jem Carstairs, (why do I always start with Jem? my cousin asked me LOL) – Jem and Will are the dynamic duo. These parabatais surely know how to make a girl swoon. While Will is unpredictable one, Jem is the more approachable and caring dude. I don’t blame Tessa for not being able to choose between them, seems like she’s got the best of both worlds with the two.

Tessa Grey, although I thought she was being naive at the beginning, proved to be quite a catch as the story progressed. Her altercation with the Dark Sisters was inevitable, but I was glad they opened her ability to shape shift. I really liked Tessa, more than I liked Clary in TMI. I found Miss Grey more feisty and ballsy. All those glamour and creepy Victorian fog could never dim the light that Tessa evoked.

The steampunk elements of the story all the more added to the creativity and uniqueness of the world created by Cassandra Clare. All the drama and twists and turns got me excited on every page. I can’t wait to read the next book in the series. I demand more Jem, Jem, Jem!

My Rating:Β 

5cups

officialClaire

Leave a Reply

