Review: City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

 cob

City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments #1)
Author: Cassandra Clare

officialsynopWhen fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder—much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing—not even a smear of blood—to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know.

officialreview

(First read 2012 and re-read a year later and a year later again. And again last year)

I just realized that I have read this book for about 4 times already, yet I haven’t gotten around to writing a review for it. Tsk Tsk, silly me! The ShadowHunters might have erased my memory or something.

But here’s what I do know about the book. This was originally a fan fiction Clare wrote for Harry Potter fandom, much like E.L. James’ claim that Fifty Shades was a product of a Twilight fanfiction (yep, Anastasia Steele and Christian Grey are patterned on the characters of Bella Swan and Edward Cullen). Okay, not bad, considering Harry Potter has always been one of my favorite books/series. Although I admit, I didn’t read any of her fanfictions so I have no further comment about that matter.

Now, for the book, I reveled in it because I liked the writer’s storytelling style. The plot was executed pleasantly and with a decent measurement of diversion. Clary is simply a typical 15 year old lady setting off to a club to relax like with her best friend Simon but things turned upside down when she witnessed a brutal murder, but nobody else had seen what she saw. That part alone had earned my interest so I continued reading until I learned about Shadowhunters, vampires, demons and all kinds of supernatural.

FACT: Long before Edward Cullen came into existence, I’ve always been a fan of vampires and werewolves, angels and demons, dragons and mermaids. I’ve had my fair share of vampires and so far, my favorite is Cian of Morrigan’s Cross, from Nora Roberts’ Circle trilogy.

After Clary met Jace and the twins Isabella and Alec, she’s soon drawn into he Shadowhunters’ world, which she, unknowingly, was also a part of. I love her friendship with Simon, they’re very open with each other, something the trio of Alec, Jace and Isabella was unable to accomplish. Between the three, Alec was the most secretive and I kinda loved him for that. Mysterious and brooding and with intimidating sense of humor. And when he encountered Magnus Bane, whoa, that’s more I liked it. Ha ha. Magnus and Alec is my OTP (sorry Clary & Jace, you just come in second).

The whole story was fantastic. Definitely worth reading and execting anticipating. Have I watched the movie adaptation already? Yes, and my husband loved it (he compared it with Twilight and trashed the Cullens and called them softies LOL). I’m watching the TV series however and I thought TV version is much better than the film IMHO.

 

My Rating: 

4cups

officialClaire

 

Leave a Reply

