Review: Wink Poppy Midnight by April Genevieve Tucholke

wpm

Wink Poppy Midnight
by April Genevieve Tucholke

officialsynopEvery story needs a hero.
Every story needs a villain.
Every story needs a secret.

Wink is the odd, mysterious neighbor girl, wild red hair and freckles. Poppy is the blond bully and the beautiful, manipulative high school queen bee. Midnight is the sweet, uncertain boy caught between them. Wink. Poppy. Midnight. Two girls. One boy. Three voices that burst onto the page in short, sharp, bewitching chapters, and spiral swiftly and inexorably toward something terrible or tricky or tremendous.

What really happened?
Someone knows.
Someone is lying.

officialreview

“Your story is about to begin, and that boy moving boxes into the slanted old house across the road is the start of it.”

This one’s quite a hard nut to crack. I don’t usually have issues with multiple narrators, especially when they have their distinct voices and attitudes that will separate them from the others. So far, I was able to keep up with Wink, Poppy & Midnight, and as the tagline suggested, one was a liar, another one was a hero and the last one was a villain (in no particular order).

You are the hero of your own story.

Wink, basically, is me. Sometimes weird, most of the time, a dreamer who lives in books, fantasy, magic. Good thing is, no one messes with her, even if she’s a strange one. Poppy is my alter ego (or I want to think so). Bully, attention seeker, sarcastic, realistic. Strangely, some people like Poppy. Take for instance, Midnight Hunt. Yep, that’s his name – Midnight. (I want to name my next son, Midnight, sounds so cool and mysterious). Anyway, this guy is a lover boy. He’s really into Poppy, although the girl just laughs him off. Cruel, right? And then Midnight moves next door to Wink. And he forgets about Poppy. But soon he realizes, he isn’t supposed to forget her. Because Poppy is… never gonna allow it.

‘We’re not over, Midnight. We’re not over until I say we’re over.”

I feel all weird and crazy and strange around these three characters… First paragraph got me widening my eyes like an owl at night.. Whew! My first words at the beginning was “What the fudge? Are you serious? You cry because you had it for the first time?” And then curiosity killed the cat. I got intrigued with the three unlikely lovers, and I was even more fascinated with the names of all the other characters. Leaf, Moon, the Yellows, the Bells, Trueblood, Alabama just to name a few. All interesting people. Each has flaws and scars to hide.

wink

Every story needs a hero.

And all we need to do is determine which one is the hero. And which one is the villain. And which one lies through it all.

Tucholke’s writing is beautiful, magical, magnifico. It’s my first time to read her book and I instantly liked how she entrance the readers with her unique storytelling. Would love to check out her other books which came highly recommended. Especially the ones she picked out for an anthology (Slasher Girls & Monster Boys). Tucholke is going to be the female counterpart of Neil Gaiman, I assure you that.

 

**NOTE: I received this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.**

My Rating:

4cups

officialClaire

 

Leave a Reply

