Jordyn: A Daemon Hunter by Tiffany King

 

savedpicture-2013916103740

Jordyn (A Daemon Hunter #1)
Author: Tiffany King
Kindle Edition 280 pages
Published Feb 2013

officialsynopHand to hand combat training: Check
Cardio and strength training: Check
Daemon hunting: Check
Anomaly: Check

Check, check, check, check…That’s all my life is. There’s nothing ordinary about me. I’m “special.” I know this because I’m reminded of it every stinking day. I can kick a Daemon’s ass with both hands tied behind my back. I can run up a mountain without breaking a sweat. Know what I can’t do? Get guys to notice me, or hang out with friends like normal people do. I can’t just be ordinary because I have an Arch Angel for a mentor who is always breathing down my neck, and a family of angelic Guides and Protectors who scrutinize every little thing I do. Just for a day I want a life where I’m no longer some anomaly, where I don’t have to feel like a lab rat.

And then I met Emrys. Okay, so my mentor and family hate him, but probably for good reason. After-all, he is a Soul Trader, and they aren’t the most trust worthy beings. But, he is sooo hot with his green eyes, leather jacket and the sexiest tattoo you’ve ever seen running down his back. And-he doesn’t treat me like a project.

I’ve got myself in quite a little quandary here. Choosing between my responsibilities and the Trader that holds my heart is something I didn’t sign up for. Torn between two different worlds, I must now decide who to trust and who to walk away from.

What’s a girl to do? See what I mean? I am an anomaly. I am Jordyn.

officialreview

I didn’t realize this was a spin-off novel until I read Jordyn’s narration of the previous events that led her to becoming a Demon Hunter. I would have to check the other books to understand the other characters better. But for now, I just want to share how much I really enjoyed the book Jordyn (A Daemon Hunter).

To quote the charismatic Krista, “the characters kept me up half the night” wondering how the story would end. Yes, it has that effect on me, too. I was up all night reading about Jordyn and Emrys and the other angels and demons.

Although I have to admit, I really didn’t like Jordyn very much. She’s got a snarky attitude with a perfect blend of impudence (sass) sarcasm and subterfuge. There were more than a couple times I wanted to smack her on the head for doing stuffs she knew were downright stupid and forbidden.

Emrys, on the other hand, is a totally different package. He’s the Soul Trader who could bend minds and can take you anywhere with just one blink of the eye. I really liked him a LOT! ’nuff said!

Let’s go back to Jordyn, the ass-kicking Daemon Hunter. I admit she’s a great fighter, she can “take a giant tattoo artist with one arm tied behind her back” . On the latter art of the book, her character builds up and I couldn’t help but understand her. More so, she’s got an over-protective family – more like the Addams Family – but she still feels claustrophobic and stifled with their constant cries of warning (yes, I’m referring to you Haniel).

jordyn

 

I could go on and on and on, but basically, there are only two sentences that I could come up with:

1) It was really a refreshing and wonderful read. And 2) I can’t wait to read the next book!

Last note: To the author, Tiffany King, (to quote one of the demons in the book) you’re one freaky bitch.. an amazingly freaky talented bitch. you’re my new fave author!

My Rating: 

4cups

officialClaire

Leave a Reply

