3.5 stars · book reviews · New Adult

Review: F*ck Love by Tarryn Fisher

fckloveF*ck Love
by Tarryn Fisher

officialsynopHelena Conway has fallen in love.
Unwillingly. Unwittingly.
But not unprovoked.
Kit Isley is everything she’s not—unstructured, untethered,
and not even a little bit careful.
It could all be so beautiful … if he wasn’t dating her best friend.
Helena must defy her heart, do the right thing, and think of others.
Until she doesn’t.

officialreviewHelena had a dream: She lives in a Pottery Barn inspired house, has two kids from two different fathers, she draws coloring books, drinks wine and is in love with Kit Isley – her bestfriend Della’s boyfriend.

When Helena Conway woke up, reality hit her. Her boyfriend is Neil, and she was having drinks with her bestfriend Della and Kit, the man she never had any conversations with before. How could she even fall in love with him, when Neil was already the perfect man for her?

Soon, Helena started rearranging her life, based on her dream. She got close to Kit, she broke up with Neil, she cheated on her best friend and the next thing you know, she got up and packed up her bags and flew straight to Washington and lived with Kit’s ex-fiance, Greer. Wow, what a whirlwind, delirious love affair. Oh and it didn’t end there yet.

Della got insecure, demanded Kit back, and she became… wait for it… wait for it… Della became pregnant and almost died! How could Helena deal with all this?

The answer to it?

Fuck Love!

fckluv

I had to hover my mouse on the star ratings above to make sure that 3 stars meant I Liked It. I want to be as honest as possible. I had a great time reading this book, I even pictured the author herself, Tarryn Fisher, as Helena, because she talked and walked and behaved like Tarryn. (Sorry Ms. Fisher, I know you don’t want the comparison, but she was uncannily and eerily like you, but remember this, I still love ya, OK?)

Anyway, back to the story.. As I was saying, I did enjoy reading F*ck Love, but at the end of the day, I thought, something’s missing. Something’s not right. Something’s not adding up to the story. Helena was out with her friends when Kit approached her and told her, “You are supposed to be with me.” And then everything went black and soon Helena dreamed of her possible future with Kit.

And when she woke up, as in really woke up, everything was right back to where it was. But I wonder, why didn’t Kit have no recollection of what happened before Helena slept? To think that he was the one who initiated their talk in the first place.

Is it just me? Did I miss something? Or my comprehension skills are getting rusted already? Or maybe, I’m overlooking into things ?

And the way the story ended, I don’t think I liked it. Because I thought Helena could do better than that. But to live somewhere with someone she loved while someone else was hurting was not really a happy ending for me. No, I don’t know about you, but that’s also one of the reason I gave 3 stars rating instead.

Well, well, well, caramel. There are also some things I liked about this book, so don’t fret. I loved how Ms Fisher wrote F*ck Love, firstly because she’s a big Harry Potter fan and it showed a lot in this book. Secondly, because the story was quite unique and magical. Thirdly, because it wasn’t boring nor dull. Except for the confusion part I’ve stated above, I’d say, this book delivered. And lastly because, this is from Tarryn Fisher. What other reasons could there be?

 

My Rating: 

3cups

officialClaire

2 thoughts on “Review: F*ck Love by Tarryn Fisher

Leave a Reply

