5 stars · book reviews · Contemporary

Review: Songs to Get Over You by Jay E. Tria

STGOY Banner

Today is my stop for Jay E. Tria’s newest book, Songs To Get Over You… It’s such a pleasure to get my hands on another Tria masterpiece!

 


StGOY.kindleSONGS TO GET OVER YOU (Playlist #2)
by Jay E. Tria
Genre: Contemporary Romance

 Goodreads  | Amazon 

synopsisviolet

They say rock stars get all the girls. But Miki knows that’s not always true. He, for one, though the guitarist of popular indie band Trainman, just can’t seem to get the girl. It’s kind of his fault, really. No one told him to fall in love with Jill. No one told him to stand still and watch as she moved on from a terrible breakup into the arms of another guy—a Japanese celebrity with the face of an angel and the body of a god.

So when someone else comes along, someone who finds him cute, smart, and funny (sometimes in the haha sort of way), will Miki finally move on? Or will he continue to pine for Jill?

 

MyReviewB

While I was reading this story, I heard this song being aired on the radio, “I’ll never get over you… getting over me….” Oh my. I’m telling you, I just had goosebumps! How cosmic that I get to hear this song being played on the airwaves while I was reading a book that contained beautiful songs for people trying to move on from heartbreak.. It was intense, really!

Miki, one of the guitarists of the rock band, Trainman, is great in writing songs. Apparently, he’s great at hiding his feelings too. He’s been harboring this unrequited feeling towards his bestfriend and been hurting since she decided to fall for someone else.

“You pirouette on the curb
I hold your hand, humming
An old song that I keep
A rhythm only I know, I’m singing.

Dream on, hold on
I’m not running
Keep on holding on
Til I get there
I will make it to the moon and back…”

And then there’s Ana. After a series of unpleasant dates, any lady would have given up on her man. But not this girl. She has set her eyes on Miki and is hellbent on chasing her happiness. But her luck eludes her. She knows she’s on the losing end, so might as well surrender, right?

I can’t tell you how surprised I was with this sequel. Turns out, Miki from Playlist 1 is really an expert at hiding his feelings. Why, I never really thought he was falling in love with Jill. (Lucky girl, your hair’s too long, I could almost step on it!) So when I got to reading Songs To Get Over You, I’ve got mixed feelings for him. Three times I shouted at my Kindle, “WTF Miki,  she’s not the only girl in the world.” and “Hey Miki, you idiot, Ana’s right in front of you and you don’t see her, damnit!”

As you can see, I was already put off by Miki’s indifference towards Ana. Ana, who easily snaked her way to my heart. I liked her a lot, her persistence, determination and guts. Miki was a fool. I said to myself, this guy needs Nino in his life. He should talk to Nino, the ladies man for chrissake!

“It’s harder to get over someone who was never really yours. You see that person smiling and it breaks your heart two-fold. “

But Miki drowns himself through his songs. Believe me, if only I knew the tune of the songs included in this playlist/book, I’d be singing my heart out, while jumping on my bed and swaying my hips and nodding my head to the beat. The words/lyrics were beautiful, effortless, shot through the heart, and Miki’s to blame. Darling, he gives love a bad name.. (Alright, yeah yeah, that’s Bon Jovi singing, I know, I know, I’m a big fan!).

But seriously. Jay E Tria won me over with her songs to get over a broken heart. I can feel the emotions in every word, of Miki pouring his heart out. I had that choking feeling in my throat while trying to suppress my tears. I love that feeling. I loved the way Tria has handled the theme about Miki, Jill and Ana. I loved how the story enthralled and mesmerized me with songs. I loved how it began and ended and left something to start with again. This is a highly recommended read!

“Now I’m positively broken
And passively reactive
I’m trying to find the right way
To get my air back from you.

I’m liking the sound of silence
Walls closing in on the distance
Feels good to find the one way
To get my air back from you.

I’m a man trying to get over you
It’s such a chore getting over you.”

P.S.
I thought I’d never say this, but I think I loved this second book more than the first one. It doesn’t matter that Shinta is a god chiseled in a man’s body. (He’s Jill’s better half by the way). And to think that I am Team Nino, in the first place. But Miki’s story – I think it was great! And oh, I think I’ll never look at banana cue and toilet paper the same way again!

AuthorBIO

JAY E. TRIA

Author photoHi! I’m a writer of contemporary Young Adult and New Adult romance. These days I’m writing paranormal/fantasy too, and it’s a fun exercise. I’m often inspired by daydreams, celebrity crushes, a childhood fascination of Japanese drama and manga, and an incessant itch to travel.

NEW RELEASE: Songs to Get Over You | That Thing Called Closure #WriteBreakupSongsAbout

Also by Jay: Blossom Among Flowers | Songs of Our Breakup | Majesty

Official site: www.jayetria.com
Email: jayetria@gmail.com
Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest, Wattpad: jayetria

GIVEAWAY:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

BDBT Logo for Bloggers

Leave a Reply

