4 stars · book reviews · New Adult

Review: Dreaming With a Broken Heart by Mary J. Williams

dream

Dreaming With A Broken Heart
(Hollywood Legends Book One)
by Mary J. Williams

officialsynopHollywood is a cutthroat town.
Nobody knows that better than the Landis brothers.
It’s time for them to step out of their parents’ shadow.
IT’S TIME FOR THEM TO BECOME LEGENDS.
Garrett Landis is Hollywood’s golden boy.
If he wants to make a movie, it gets made.
If he wants a woman, he only has to snap his fingers.
The moment he meets Jade Marlow he knows she’s different.
She’s the first woman to get under his skin. The first woman he can’t have.
Jade Marlow is desperate to leave behind her tragic past.
Her ex-husband wants her dead. Her father is her worst enemy.
Jade wants Garrett, but she refuses to drag him into her mess of a life.
The attraction is undeniable.
What happens when your head tells you to stay away, but your heart won’t listen?
Sex is easy.
Falling in love?
It’s the hardest thing they will ever do.
But it could turn out to be the best thing that ever happened to them.

 

officialreviewAbandoned by her own mom. Verbally abused by her dad. Physically assaulted by her husband. Jade Marlow is that. Broken. Scarred. Scandalized. Pitied. Frowned upon. The list of negatives go on. If only they knew what she really was inside.

Born into the sights and sounds of Hollywood. Living the lifestyle of the rich and famous. Loved by celebrity parents. Adored by his rambunctious brothers. A respected movie director. Life is good for Garrett Landis. Until he saw Jade Marlow. Again.

He offered his helping hand. She needed a shoulder to lean on. Darkness became their companion. But the scars of the past still get in between their present, thus the future is nowhere to be seen.

This is my first Mary J. Williams book and I’m glad this won’t definitely be the last. Williams held my attention with all that angst, hidden feelings, strong willed characters. And that steamy romance. The kind of steamy with class. The author’s writing is hypnotic, I easily fell under her spell. I don’t know why I took my time reading this. I’d like to blame my work schedule for not allowing me to finish this book right away.

I’m looking forward to reading more of the Landis brothers’ story and more of Mary J Williams Hollywood legends and cowboy heroes. I bet they’re all gonna be my new book boyfriends.

**NOTE: I received this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. **

 

My Rating:

4cups

officialClaire

Leave a Reply

