Review: Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover

maybesomeday

Maybe Someday (Maybe #1)
by Colleen Hoover

officialsynopAt twenty-two years old, Sydney is enjoying a great life: She’s in college, working a steady job, in love with her wonderful boyfriend, Hunter, and rooming with her best friend, Tori. But everything changes when she discovers that Hunter is cheating on her—and she’s forced to decide what her next move should be.

Soon, Sydney finds herself captivated by her mysterious and attractive neighbor, Ridge. She can’t take her eyes off him or stop listening to the passionate way he plays his guitar every evening out on his balcony. And there’s something about Sydney that Ridge can’t ignore, either. They soon find themselves needing each other in more ways than one.

A passionate tale of friendship, betrayal, and romance, Maybe Someday will immerse readers in Sydney’s tumultuous world from the very first page.

officialreview

*** First read April 2014, re-read September 2015 and devoured again February 2016 ***

“I just punched a girl in the face.”

Ouch! That punch may have hurt, but that’s nothing compared to the emotions I felt all throughout the book. Maybe Someday isn’t your typical boy meets girl kind of story. This one got depth, complexity and intricacy that you got no choice but to fully get invested on the characters.

“I want to be your end, but you gotta let it begin.”

Sydney is so likeable. She may be blind in love but she’s got a heart as big as Mt. Olympus. Good thing she got rid of her good-for-nothing boyfriend Hunter, who was such a jerk, he didn’t deserve her or anyone at all. Ridge on the other hand, is very much boyfriend material. He may have a hearing disability, but that didn’t prevent me from swooning and gushing about him.

“Say it’s wrong, but baby, it feels right.” 

Maggie, the other girl in the equation, is definitely a bump in the road. To others, she’s considered the third party, but for me, she doesn’t deserve any hate or vile remarks. She’s unbelievably good for Ridge which is why I also felt bad for her.

Maybe Someday“People don’t get to choose who they fall in love with. They only get to choose who they stay in love with.” 

Sydney & Ridge writing great music together – check.
Sydney and Ridge hiding their feelings – check.
Listening to Griffin Peterson’s songs – check.
Ugly crying – check.
Falling in love with CoHo all over again – a big, big check!

Gosh, too many emotions, too beautiful lyrics, too complicated lovestory. Too many feels.

This captivated me right from the start. Colleen Hoover is pure genius, creative, unique. She knows how to make me cry and love and hate all at the same time. A lot has been said about Colleen, but one thing I know for sure is true. When she writes, she writes with passion, with heart, with soul. I am and will forever be a CoHort, no matter what.

“I don’t want Sydney ever to feel like my second choice, when I know in my heart that she’s the right choice. The only choice.”

My Rating: 

5cups

officialClaire

7 thoughts on “Review: Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover

  1. I’ve been ogling this one…I loved Ugly Love, my first read by the author, and then I read and loved November 9.

    This one sounds like a great one to read next. Thanks for sharing…and I love how the cover of the book fills up your e-reader. Is that a Kindle?

    Love the look of your blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

