Review: The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

5thwavw

The 5th Wave
(The 5th Wave #1)
by Rick Yancey

officialsynopAfter the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother-or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.

officialreview

In the beginning, there was light. And all of a sudden, darkness reigned.

The enemy struck the second time around, and soon everyone drowned.

They say, the third time’s a charm, but in reality, it brought universal harm.

On the fourth encounter, they were silenced, misled and brainwashed.

Now the 5th wave is upon us all.. Are you even sure you are still you?

IMG_2704

Get this – the main character fires an M-16 while holding a teddy. The one person who helped was the one who shouldn’t be trusted.

I can’t believe I didn’t read this ASAP. I wonder why I didn’t hear about this when it was first published. A year had gone and if not for my bookish cousin Cherry, I wouldn’t even know that this had been made into a film. (Which up until now I haven’t seen..)

I thought this was totally mind-blowing and brilliant, to think that this is sci-fi which I don’t normally read. But damn, this is good. The heroine was kickass, vulgar and interesting. The zombie was cool and smart (not real zombie, mind you) and the shark who dreamed as a man was the unexpected twist. Although I must admit I had doubts about Camp Haven.

Believe me, I wanted to give this book 5 illuminating stars. But somehow, while I was reading about Camp Haven, I had this niggling thought about Colonel Vosch and Sergeant Reznik. I just knew that it had to be Them.

Nevertheless, Rick Yancey’s storytelling was fascinatingly riveting. He had my attention for hours. I can’t believe I was able to finish reading a sci-fi book in five hours? (Normally, it takes me days). Guess it means he is the author to watch out for. The 5th wave is a highly recommended book!

My Rating: 

4cups

officialClaire

4 thoughts on “Review: The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

  1. Ha! I can’t believe you didn’t know there was a movie, Ate Claire! haha. Chloe Moretz plays as “Cassie” but well the movie wasn’t that good. I’m glad you finally read this book. This first one is actually my favorite of the three books. Awesome review, Ate! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

