5 stars · book reviews · favorite books

Review: Art and Soul by Brittainy Cherry

Art&Soul

Art & Soul
by Brittainy C. Cherry

officialsynopI had always been the invisible art student in high school.
Passed by. Glossed over. Unnoticed.
Now I was Aria Watson… that girl.

After one bad decision, and being labeled a slut, I was no longer unseen. I was the whore. The ignoramus. The tramp.
I would never be invisible again.

Particularly to Levi Myers. He was the odd boy with the beautiful soul who accepted and understood the broken girl inside me.

Falling in love wasn’t the plan. But how could I resist his promises of hope? Of forgiveness? Of a future I had stopped dreaming of?
We were shattered. We were scarred. We were something strange and beautiful.

We were two lost souls holding on to the only thing that could keep us together.

Each other.

officialreview

Sorry, it took me a while to finish this review. I know you’d think I was dilly-dallying but the truth is, I still can’t get over the fine mess I have gotten into. I really don’t know how to go about it, but I am pretty sure Levi and Aria had me thinking all night long.

scream

Meet Aria, once an unknown ordinary girl, but one day, she got knocked up and soon she became an extremely unpopular celebrity. Why, she even get notes and presents in her locker – notes about her being a slut, presents like condoms and stuffs. Now that was pretty ugly.

Then came Levi Myers. Sweet boy Alabama, every girl wanted a piece of him, every guy wanted to be friends with him. Too bad he’s got his sights on only one girl. The girl who got pregnant by somebody else. Yeah, you do the math.

Oh there’s also Simon and Abigail, two unlikely allies who provided light and humour in their insanely normal lives.

When Aria the artist met the musician Levi, their worlds collided, their broken hearts connected, and their pretty messed up lives turned upside down.

Art&soul

Unplanned pregnancy, cancer, obsessive-compulsive disease, mental illness, jealousy. These issues seem too much to deal with by sixteen year olds. I can’t count how many times I teared up for Levi, knowing his mother is slowly driving herself insane and seeing his father slowly surrendering to cancer. (F*ck cancer, I could very well relate to that since my own father died of it!)

I also felt my heart get crippled seeing Aria living in a house where her own father treated her like an invisible wind, pretended she didn’t exist. Gosh, I’ve had so many feels reading this book.

icant

“Her body slightly rocked back and forth and her lips parted. I stared at her lips far longer than I should’ve, but the way they fell open was almost enough for me to want to press my mouth against hers. I forced my gaze elsewhere and when it found her eyes, I completely forgot about the idea of blinking…”

Things I loved in Art & Soul are air guitar, professional lip syncing, Levi’s soulful words for Aria, Simon’s OGAA (Oh gosh, go skydiving just to ask someone on a date?!), Awkward Abigail’s cookies and Aria’s abstract art. And all their bittersweet problems. There you have it, spoilers exposed! Ha ha ha… NOT!

Can you tell I love this story so much? Howcanyounot?? This has got to be one of the few fascinating, evocative, moving and superb stories I read this year. I won’t get tired forming oxymorons just to prove how much I love this book. My nonsensical tears might just prove that.

love

Brittainy Cherry, you’ve made a fan out of me after Loving Mr. Daniels. Now that I’ve finished Art & Soul, can I form a fandom/fanclub for you? Trust me, you already got a handful of fans here in the Philippines. You are going to be the next Colleen Hoover!

Now, I can blink my tears away. And check my phone. And blink again. And check my phone…. and blink again. (sorry, getting crazy again…)

 

My Rating: 

5cups

officialClaire

Leave a Reply

