Review: The Turning Point by Marie Meyer

turningpoint

The Turning Point
by Marie Meyer

 

officialsynopIt’s funny how a piece of paper can change your life-a diploma, a ticket . . . a plain, white envelope

For as long as I could remember, I was the girl with the plan. Good college, good medical school, good career. I would save lives instead of standing by helplessly, watching while they slipped away.

That was before my father called for the first time in fifteen years to tell me about the terminal illness stealing his life-an illness that might be stealing mine, too. It was before he gave me the name of a doctor and a plane ticket to Italy. Before I flew across an ocean. Before I realized how brilliantly bright life could be. Before I met Lucas.

He’s everything I’ve always wanted, and the timing couldn’t be worse. I can’t do this to him-he deserves so much better. My head tells me I can’t afford to fall in love with Lucas, but my heart won’t listen. Lucas is fearless about the future, while I’m not even sure I have one. There’s only one way to know what’s ahead and it’s waiting for me at home inside a plain, white envelope.

All I have to do, is open it . . .

officialreview

Have you ever had that turning point in your life, the one that suddenly turned your world upside down?

Sophia Belmonte just graduated and in a few weeks, she’d be starting med school. All her plans were getting into place. She’s a woman with a vision, and that included seeing herself wearing white scrubs with stethoscope hanging by her neck. She wanted to save lives. She wanted to make a difference.

But when her father dropped the bomb about his medical condition, her world was shattered. A genetic disorder that could only mean one thing. She may have it too in the future. Suddenly, the girl with plans had her world collapsed and left in ruins.

Her father gave her Italy, to reward herself, to live and breathe, to be carefree, to discover life. But what she discovered wasn’t part of her plan. Lucas.

Lucas was running away from his past. He thought being with girls would make him forget about a broken heart. Until he bumped into Sophia and he fell on his ass. Literally.

What happened next was unexpected. Sophia didn’t expect promises. Sophia didn’t expect any future for her. Sophia didn’t want this turning point in her life. Sophia didn’t expect Lucas.

The Turning Point is a well-written novel, one that would startle you at first, then make you appreciate what Italy has to offer, have you sweating in the middle (of the book) and expect you to sigh in the end.

“I knew I’d get your number before the end of the day,” he texted.
My thumb flew over my keypad.
“Yeah, I planned on giving it to you. I just liked seeing you work for it!”“It was the most pleasurable day’s work I’ve had in a long time, even though it started it out with me on my ass…”

Honestly though, I wasn’t particularly in favor of Sophia’s character. I thought she was kind of a spoiled brat. She was annoying, especially to her father. I was expecting her to soften up after she discovered the real reason why her father left them, but up until she was in Italy (thanks to her dad’s grand gift, by the way), she was still stubborn and unforgiving. But she redeemed herself when she finally realized about selflessness versus selfishness.

Lucas, on the other hand, was an ideal boyfriend. Though I found his reason for escaping St.Louis was kind of flat and shallow, he showed his sensitive side in Italy. He had this “rainbow” descriptions of Sophia which sounded a little cheesy for me at first, and then, boom, I drowned in his sweet colorful world.

“You could have a chance at something normal, Lucas. Why me?”
“Normal’s boring. I want the ten million colors in full, gleaming high definition.”
Aside from his disposition though, Lucas was rational and sensible. He’s got a lot of interesting questions too..

“So, why is it okay for a twentysomething woman to live with her mother, but the second a twentysomething man says he lives with Mom, it’s frowned upon?”– believe me Lucas, I ask myself that, too!

Oh Italy! The descriptions of this amazing country are highly commendable. Makes you want to take that earliest flight to Rome and be dazzled with its beauty, arts and wonders.

Sadly though, I was looking forward to reading more about Huntington’s disease but the book didn’t give it much attention. I would have preferred it if Sophia’s dad’s medical condition was further discussed. And it took a whole book before we finally learned about the content of the envelope. Whoa!

The steamy scenes… Well, I only got three words for you – hot, hot, hot! ‘Nuff said!

My rating: 

3.5 stars

3cups

officialClaire

Leave a Reply

