Review: City in Embers by Stacey Marie Brown

CityEmbersCity in Embers
(Collector series, Book #1)
by Stacey Marie Brown

officialsynopZoey Daniels has been tossed from foster home to foster home, where she grows up fast and tough. When she is placed in her “last-chance” home, she finds a reason to stay and turn her life around: her foster sister, Lexie, who is paralyzed and confined to a wheelchair. Zoey will do anything to keep her safe. After high school, Zoey is hired by a special government agency, the Department of Molecular Genetics (DMG), where she meets the other reason to remain: Daniel, her co-worker. The man she loves.

But there is something unique about Zoey. She can see fae. Because of this, the DMG hires her to work as a Collector: catching, researching, testing, and using the fae to save human lives. The work never registers on her sympathy radar. She was raised to think of fae as beasts that feed on humans and want to destroy them.

When devastation hits Seattle, Zoey’s whole world is turned upside down. The electric storm connects her to a ruthless fae, a Wanderer named Ryker, whose dealings expose them to even more trouble and danger. They embark on a journey, running and hiding from both the government and fae, both of which threaten their lives and those they love.

officialreview

When I first read City in Embers, I actually thought I was reading Kiersten White’s Paranormalcy (which I have read and reviewed here last year). I can still remember about Evie, the pink girl with a pink Taser, who could see through the glamour of faeries that wreck havoc in the city, and her mermaid friend easily won my heart. I was about to stop reading this when I got to Chapter 2 and realized, this book is a whole lot different from Paranormalcy. I am sorry to tell you Kiersten, but City in Embers, Stacey Marie Brown and Zoey Daniels kick butt much better than bleeping Evie..

Zoey Daniels had been in and out from one foster home to another, and as she got older, the sicker and meaner she was treated by the system. The last family she was put into, Zoey gained a new foster sister, Lexie, who was wheelchair-bound and had treated her like a real family.

CityInEmber

And then there was Daniel, her partner in crime (sort of), a co-worker who had helped her a lot in their mission as Collectors. Collectors are agents who hunt, retrieve and collect faes or shape-shifters. They were agents of DMG (Department of Molecular Genetics), a government agency specializing in studying collected faes for medical purposes.

An inexplicable lightning and weather condition had caused the Seattle Space Needle to fall down, with more than two thousand casualties (dead people) and three thousand more missing. And Zoey witnessed it all, and had mourned the loss of the ones she loved.

Out to discover and investigate the supernatural occurrence, Zoey had no choice but to join hands with the one she had vowed to hunt and kill – a Mohawked Viking Fae named Ryker. Because at times like this, the one company she thought could help her, was the very same group who would eventually kill her.

As I have mentioned, I almost gave up on this book, it was a little long and wordy, but I decided to continue, because I initially wanted to compare it with Paranormalcy by Kiersten White. Then I was surprised and enlightened. The more pages I read, the more I realized there was nothing to compare. I was right to stay with this book, because it proved to be even better and more thrilling. It was filled with much dangerous stunts and better plot. Truth is, I’m not really much into Vikings or mohawk-hairstyled bad boys, but there was something mysterious about Ryker that kept me turning the pages. Plus a narcoleptic monkey-sprite sure got the ball rolling with his quips.

Stacey Marie Brown, you are one heck of a writer. I love the dialogues thrown by the characters, I love the crazy magical world they were trapped in. You got me going and going, and now wanting for The Barrier Between. I bet it’s gonna be amazing!

My Rating: 

4cups

officialClaire

4 thoughts on “Review: City in Embers by Stacey Marie Brown

Leave a Reply

