Review: SCARLET (Lunar Chronicles 2)

Scarlet2

Scarlet

(The Lunar Chronicles #2)
by Marissa Meyer

officialsynopCinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison—even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive.

Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.

officialreview

I’m not sure how to start this review. I thought of saying, “I loved this book to bits, metals, and chips and all…” but I think that would be an understatement. Marissa Meyer continues to surprise me with all the twists and turns and knots and howls and roars. And in the end, I have this stupid grin on my face, which could only mean one thing: Scarlet is awesome!

Well, I am really referring to the character in the book, Scarlet Benoit. The damsel in red hood who wasn’t really in distress, believe me, she was so stressful actually, but in my eyes, she was a determined woman who joined hands (and claws) with the wolf in order to save her grandmother from the clutches of the Lunars. I said stressful because I almost got tired of her stubbornness and relentless attitude towards Wolf. But given her situation, her being headstrong was understandable.

scar

What about Wolf? Hmm, sharp canines aside, I thought he was cute when a tomato mesmerized him. Yup, a tomato, the one you grow on the farm. That’s it. I wanted to get inside the book and feed him tomatoes until his face bloats and his lips redden. And the thing with the can opener in the end, ha ha, he was hilariously adorable.

But seriously, I loved his character more when he had pledged to protect his alpha female counterpart, and would trade himself in order to spare her life from his evil pack. He was all man and wolf rolled into one. I don’t care if he was genetically modified. (spoiler!)

But why did I give only 4 stars when on the first book, I gave Cinder 5 bright stars? The culprit? Cinder herself. Honestly I was glad at first when she was able to escape and controlled herself from doing what Queen Levana was accustomed to do. I liked that her gifts were used in a good way. But what I didn’t like was she still wanted to escape instead of facing the truth. That she still preferred to be on the run instead of surrendering herself thus sparing Emperor Kai from taking her punishment.

Oh no no no… I know I’m speaking too soon, I know I should read Cress first before jumping to conclusions, but damnit, I hated it when Kai had to take matters into his own hands. Arghh!

I admit, Red wasn’t particularly my favorite Disney character, but after reading Scarlet, my feelings changed. I think I’mma start reading other Red Hood retellings after this.

And I should read Cress soon. I should not think about Cinder yet. I should think about Captain, errr Cadet Thorne Carswell. I should think about Iko. I should think about the future. I should start reading the next book. Better yet, I should stop writing now.


But I can’t. Because I still have to commend and say thanks to Marissa Meyer for a wonderful retelling of Little Red Riding Hood. She’s done a great job with her stories, she makes people clamor for more and I think, she should be the next JK Rowling. Bravo, Miss Meyer!! Bravo!

4cups

officialClaire

Leave a Reply

