Review: Talent (Descended from Myth 2)

Talent

Talent

(Descended from Myth: Book Two)
by Erin McFadden

officialsynopPorter McGavin spends his nights lost in shattered memories of blood, sand, and ammunition, and his days struggling to hold together the tattered shreds of his life. The combat veteran is barely surviving his battle scars when he’s offered a chance to once again have a future with purpose, as a member of The Brotherhood of Guardians, an ancient group of warriors sworn to protect the mortal descendants of Muses. No more struggling to get by, no more fighting to fit in, Porter readily accepts a new way of life. But when he’s thrust into the role of Claire Montgomery’s Watcher, shadows from his past threaten to plunge them both into darkness.

Claire can’t shake the mistrust she holds for the Guardians. Too many were responsible for the years she lived in confinement and forced isolation. When new threats arise, she knows she needs protection, but will she be able to accept any Watcher, let alone one as damaged as Porter?

Forced to confront the secrets haunting them both, can they learn to trust each other before the Guardians fall?

officialreview

I am always on the lookout for a unique story, whether it’s a YA, Fantasy or Paranormal Romance. I loved being surprised by the characters and getting drawn into a whole new world. When I read Muse by Erin McFadden a year ago, I knew it was a gem. I met interestingly unique characters like Daniel and Anna and had been with them ever since.

A few days ago, I got the chance to read the second book, Talent and like the first one, I was blown away. Porter Mcgavin was a combat veteran who occasionally had dreams about his last mission, the day when all of his comrades died from a surprise attack. Porter was the only one left alive. He always woke up reeling and grasping for straws, never learning how it all happened and why. With no more family and comrades to boot, he decided to accept Daniel Lyoncourt’s offer of training and becoming a Watcher for the Brotherhood of Guardians. There, he realized he could do what he was good at, without worrying about his past.

Claire Montgomery was a broken Talent, her mind had been used for monetary reasons by Sebastian Finn. Rescued by Daniel and the Brotherhood, Claire was having trust issues at people, even though she knew they were only looking out for her. Protecting her. But there was this undeniable connection she felt with a certain Watcher and she didn’t undersand why her gift of Influence render her weak and bleeding everytime. Could she be an anomaly? Was there a reason behind the headaches she’d been experiencing? Who was the Watcher and what was his connection to her life?

I have nothing but good words for this sequel. Talent is another addition to my new favorites this year. Claire (oh I really love this name, I wonder why LOL) and her tragic life experiences is keeping her from having a normal life. I totally understand her situation, and I couldn’t help but feel bad for her. Porter McGavin also stood out for me, his life during the war and how he managed to stay alive even after his entire group was wiped out made me reach out for him. He isn’t perfect, he isn’t even as ruggedly handsome as his opponent Ryan Calhoun who seemed to have come out of the pages of GQ magazine. But there’s something about his battle scars and wounded spirit that drew me in.

Once again, Erin McFadden delivered a unique story, a far cry from other paranormal romances I’ve read last year. Her writing improves and the peculiar stories she writes continue to baffle and mystify and captivate me. Guardians, Watchers, Talents and Muses. Sounds generic to you? To me, these sound magnificent. And I will keep on reading Descended From Myth series because I know, great things are happening and soon to happen. Erin, when’s book 3 coming out? I want to see Ryan Calhoun again!

My Rating:Β 

5cups

 

Review of Other Books in the series: MUSEΒ : Descended From Myth Book 1

officialClaire

Leave a Reply

