Review: Chasing Nikki by Lacey Weatherford

18597016

Chasing Nikki (Chasing Nikki #1)

officialsynopA broken heart.
A troubled past.
An unexpected romance that changes everything.
Will love and trust be enough to overcome the ultimate test?

Chase Walker used to be a good kid–charming, athletic, and with a bright future ahead, but that was before travesty struck his life, sinking him into deep despair. Caught up in a world of drugs and alcohol, he doesn’t notice time slipping away until he’s arrested for underage drinking one night.

Fed up with watching her son destroy his life, Chase’s mom relocates him to live in a small ranching community with his ex-military grandfather. Chase is far from happy about the situation until he meets, Nikki, the cute cheerleader who won’t give football players like him the time of day.

Chase enjoys a good challenge though and sets out to claim Nikki for his own. He soon discovers she’s more than a pretty face–she’s a balm to his troubled spirit also. But when tragedy strikes Nikki’s life too, suddenly Chase finds himself put to the ultimate test. Can he trust Nikki, and all that she’s taught him? Will it be enough?

officialreview

In the beginning, this was a really feel good love story. Had me sighing with bated breath and rolling on the bed, clutching my pillow while I read how Chase’s life had changed. Nikki was an interesting character, I thought she was charming and I especially liked how she didn’t want to date jocks or football players. At first, I thought maybe she just wanted to be different, but later on I realized there was something else deeper that brought all this down on her. Chase also had issues, he was full of angst and anger and turned to drugs and alcohol and girls to forget. But his coping mechanism got the worst of him and soon I saw just how broken he was.

The book actually brought me back to my early college years – when I viewed the world as romantic and cruel at the same time. Because being in love was like that.

The first part of the book had me sighing and grinning but when I got to the other half, damn, I couldn’t handle the erratic beating of my heart. I thought I was gonna implode and choke. You really won’t know what’s coming and you are left wondering why why why did it happen that way.. I could no longer stop the tears running down my cheeks, every single page, I cried, I sniffed, I sobbed uncontrollably. I was mad.

This is my first Lacey WEatherford book and I loved it, even though she made me cry a lot. Gotta read her next books! Maybe after I’ve dried my tears..

My rating:

4cups

officialClaire

Leave a Reply

