Review: Imperfect Love by Isabella White

imperfectlove

Imperfect Love (4ever #1)
by Isabella White
Kindle Edition, 425 pages
Published July 27th 2015 by Fire Quill Publishing

officialsynopAt 24 years old, Holly Scallanger has the perfect life. Everything a girl could want; a beautiful man, a stunning home, as well as being in the midst of preparing for the wedding of her dreams. This all vanishes the night she catches her fiancรฉ, Brandon Morgan, in bed with her worst nightmare, Donna Sinclair, just a week before Holly is set to walk down the aisle.

Attempting to recover from his betrayal, Holly swears off the affections of men in order to pick up the pieces of her crumbling life. Unfortunately, meeting Jake ‘Hooligan’ Peters is not part of her plan. The tall, dark-haired and handsome as hell med student, sweeps Holly away from the pain of her past and reveals to her the bright future that lays ahead. That is, until she falls pregnant just as Jake begins his internship at P&E; his family’s hospital.

Will this love at first sight lead her to the fairytale she has always craved? Or, will she fall victim to a betrayal of the heart yet again?

officialreview

A week before their wedding, Holly discovered that her fiance Brandon Morgan had and still have a clandestine affair with Donna Sinclair. Holly’s formidable enemy. Fed up of his promises and lies, she broke up with him and abandoned their wedding. And because Brandon was an a-hole, he actually pushed through with the nuptials, but with the slutty Donna as his bride. Idiot!

Holly swore off guys from then on. A blind date gone wrong sealed her decision to forget about men and dating and marriage. But she didn’t expect Jake Peters to come along. Punching and probably breaking another idiot’s nose one night in camp brought Holly to Jake’s care and before she knew it, she already fell for him and broke her rule to never fall in love again. Bummer!

Life’s a peach with Jake, Holly soon discovered. But of course, it wasn’t always red roses and dining feasts, especially after she met Jake’s mother. Dr. Mara Peters was so overprotective of her son even though Jake was already of age and was already a practicing neurologist. His mom didn’t want anything nor anyone to interfere with her son’s success. Holy cow!

A whirlwind yet definitely romantic love affair, complete with surprise dinner dates and flowers cemented Holly’s love for Jake. Until she soon found herself clinging for dear life when they discovered she was carrying his child. Mommy Mara was none too pleased. Tsk. Tsk.

As much I want to continue with the story, I have to stop. Divulging more of their tragic will only result to cussing, profanities and probably mental torture, which I couldn’t bear to tell anymore. Damnit!

I swear I went to the moon and back just to hide the tears falling from my eyes. Holy cow, this book kept surprising me until the last chapter, and it wasn’t the end yet. There’s more! I wonder how much more tears I could take. I want to gut Jake’s head and fry his brains just so he could have a taste of what he’s done to Holly. Oh gosh, I can’t believe I’m getting carried away. FuckU Jake, scums like you deserve to have brain damage. Ugh.

Sorry about that. I swear I;m not that emotional when it comes to book boyfriends. As a matter of fact, Jake isn’t part of my list of book boyfriends, but damn, he’s so damn close! I really can’t forgive him for what she’s done to poor Holly, but I bet a million pesos that his uncaring mother was behind all these ruckus. As a matter of fact, his mom should be the one whose brains deserved to be fed to the wolves. Another Ugh.

Okay, I know I’ve been giving some bad vibes here. Here’s just what I have to say. Imperfect Love is highly an imperfect book, but darn it, the characters, the setting, the story-line, the feels – they all felt perfect to me. Perfectly emotional, empowering, aggravating, gripping. Just perfect. Isabella White needs to release the second book the 4ever series because I can’t wait to get my hands on Jake’s brains. Seriously.

iLove

P.S.

This book is beautiful, I have no more words. I love everything in it. Thanks to Netgalley & FireQuill Publishing for providing me a free copy in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating:ย 5cups

officialClaire

Leave a Reply

