Review: Tales of Beedle the Bard by JKRowling

TBBThe Tales of Beedle the Bard
(Hogwarts Library)
by J.K. Rowling

officialsynopThe Tales of Beedle the Bard, a Wizarding classic, first came to Muggle readers’ attention in the book known as Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. Now, thanks to Hermione Granger’s new translation from the ancient runes, we present this stunning edition with an introduction, notes, and illustrations by J. K. Rowling, and extensive commentary by Albus Dumbledore.

Never before have Muggles been privy to these richly imaginative tales: “The Wizard and the Hopping Pot,” “The Fountain of Fair Fortune,” “The Warlock’s Hairy Heart,” “Babbitty Rabbitty and Her Cackling Stump,” and of course, “The Tale of the Three Brothers.” But not only are they the equal of fairy tales we now know and love, reading them gives new insight into the world of Harry Potter.

officialreview

I am a Muggle. I don’t have a wand nor any magic tricks up my sleeve. The stories I love to read were written by Hans Christian Anderson, JM Barie and William Shakespeare. I have learned to accept my fate as a Mudblood, But, there’s still a part of me that wanted to learn more about wizards, witches and wands. Sure, I’ve met Harry, Hermione and Ron. I’ve pledged my allegiance to Gryffindor and Albus Dumbledore. I’ve studied Harry’s fate through Philosopher’s Stone up to Deathly Hallows. But I still wanted to learn more.

A fellow Mudblood gifted me this book, The Tales of Beedle the Bard and I couldn’t have been happier. I read this book with my kids who were very excited to learn more about witchcrafts and wizardry. Touted as the equivalent to Muggle’s Brothers Grimm, I thought “finally, I’m gonna learn about the wizards’ very own version of fairy tales.” Only there were no fairies nor princesses and flying Peter Pan in their stories. The Tales in this book are short, enticing, a little dark and amusing.

tbbcup

My kids liked The Fountain of Fair Fortune the most, because it showed how the lack of magical powers could still bring fortune to those who strive and pursue their goals. Me, my personal favorite was The Tale of Three Brothers especially the last brother’s story because he was wise and mature even though he was the youngest among the brood.

There was also the other tales which me and my children weren’t too happy about, like The Warlock’s Hairy Heart, which kind of reminded me of Romeo and Juliet’s tragic fate.

In my honest opinion, after reading all the tales and reviews by Albus Dumbledore himself, I realized in the end, I would still love to peruse Disney stories and their Happily Ever Afters. While JK Rowling’s writing was and still is enticing and colorful and imaginative, The Tales of Beedle the Bard wasn’t fit for my boys. They thought this wasn’t as magical as the former Harry Potter books. But maybe when they grow a little older, they would like this even more.

My rating:

three and a half-filled cups

3cups

officialClaire

Leave a Reply

