Review: Compulsive (Liar # 1) by Lia Fairchild

Compulsive

Title: Compulsive
Series: Liar, Book 1
Author: Lia Fairchild
Kindle; 300 pages

NOTE: I received this book for free from the author in exchange for honest review.

officialsynopI’m a liar.

I know what you’re thinking. We’re all liars.

But, I’m not talking about the lie you tell your Aunt Helen when she gives you that crappy sweater for your birthday. Or, even the lie you tell yourself when you’re sleeping with someone for all the wrong reasons. I’m talking about bold-faced lies that spill from my lips as easy as the breath from my lungs. Lies that ruin people, lies that protect people, lies for the hell of it. I eat, sleep, and drink lies. I bathe in deceit. At one point in my life, I might not have recognized the truth if it bent me over and slapped me on the ass.

And sometimes, the chaos that is my life gets me in a whole hell of a lot of trouble.

I was a master at keeping it all locked up inside me…until I met Dr. Daniel Harrison.

officialreviewGray had been seeing a shrink after her employer accused her of stealing an account. With Dr. Wallace, she thought she found an ally who could help her with her issues. Turned out, the shrink didn’t even like her at all.

Then she met Superman. Clark Kent with an MD. The answer to her prayers. Dr. Daniel Harrison.

She couldn’t admit at first that she was a liar. A compulsive liar. That she’s got a lot of emotional issues. About drugs. Alcohol. Boys. One-night stands. Lies. And more lies. The lies she had to tell as her coping mechanism to what really bothered her inside.  But the more she spent time with Daniel, the more inclined she was to tell the truth. The more she discovered she could be truthful of her present. The more she became accepting of her past.

liar

Personal issues aside, Gray’s got her hands full with her family, too. She was not on speaking terms with her father, she was entangled in her aunt Becca’s chaotic divorce and she’s got 15-year old Alyssa who couldn’t stop talking like a sailor. There’s also Nathan, the one who knew the innermost part of her. The man who had been part of her past but couldn’t possibly be in her grainy future. She loved Nathan, but she knew they could never be together.

And to top it off, there’s Noah, the very reason she couldn’t get past her issues.

Would there still be a future for her? Can anyone still trust her? Will she be able to redeem herself in the end?

This.Is.Amazingly.Beautiful.

I can’t believe I’ll say this, but I love the story even if the main female character was a liar. Not just any kind of liar, but the Queen of Lies, nonetheless. To tell you the truth, I have never read a most truthful account of a character until I met Gray Sky Donovan. Yep, that’s her full name, Gray Sky, and she was one-of-a-kind.

I am not saying that I liked Gray’s personality. I am against liars, I hate liars, I never like being lied to. But I had to give Gray the benefit of the doubt. And I’m glad I did. This is one of the books wherein I had a totally different view about the main leads at the beginning, where I didn’t positively think of what it was going to be about and I’m relieved to say that it made me think very differently by the time I was finished.

The concept about drugs, alcohol, abuse, love – all were discussed with honesty and intensity. Compulsive is a book that talked about reality.  This may be fiction but it can happen in real life. Props to Lia Fairchild for a job well done. Can’t wait to read the next book!

My rating:

5cups

 

officialClaire

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

