Review: The Unfortunate Decisions of Dahlia Moss

Print

The Unfortunate Decisions of Dahlia Moss
by Max Wirestone

officialsynopThe odds of Dahlia successfully navigating adulthood are 3,720 to 1. But never tell her the odds.

Meet Dahlia Moss, the reigning queen of unfortunate decision-making in the St. Louis area. Unemployed broke, and on her last bowl of ramen, she’s not living her best life. But that’s all about to change.

Before Dahlia can make her life any messier on her own she’s offered a job. A job that she’s woefully under-qualified for. A job that will lead her to a murder, an MMORPG, and possibly a fella (or two?).

Turns out unfortunate decisions abound, and she’s just the girl to deal with them.

officialreview

Perhaps, this is one of those books that are out of my league, but due to my love of books, I am willing to study about the subject matter and learn more. I am not a fan of MMO, but I love detective stories. Such was the case for The Unfortunate Decisions of Dahlia Moss.

Truth is, my husband’s the one really into MMORPG, and whenever I get a break from work, I spend some time watching him play, steal, kill, demand and pursue heroes, villains, combatants, dragons, elven archers, et al. By watching him play with his online cohorts, I know about gaming techniques, cheats, building armies, looting merchandise and stuffs. So am I qualified to read this book? Yes, definitely!

It’s funny how I was able to easily relate to the story and with the characters. At first, admittedly, I was raising my eyebrows because Jonah mentioned about finding Bejeweled Spear of Infinite Piercing. I was like, WTF is he talking about? I somehow mirrored Dahlia’s initial reaction and was bewildered. I decided to continue reading until I finally understood what Jonah was talking about. You know what I did? I screamed and hurriedly told my husband that I am reading a book with MMORPG theme and my hubby was ecstatic. He said, finally “you’ll understand the world I am living in”… sheesh!

So I went along my merry way, reading about Dahlia’s unemployed status thus agreeing to Jonah’s initial $1000 to meet the thief and another $1000 after shaking him up. Sounds like a plan. Only, the problem was, she didn’t have any experience doing detective work. Zero. Zip. Zilch. Nada.

Dahlia’s response? “Game on!”

What happened next took me by surprise. There was murder, mayhem, cosplay (darn it, i wonder how I’d look if I were to wear that Manic Pixie Dream Girl costume, too!) and laughter. This book was too much fun! I enjoyed Dahlia’s weird antics and come-what-may, devil-may-care attitude. She was so cool! This book is definitely for me! Max Wirestone, you just got yourself a new follower, include me in your fandom from now on. Decisions be damned!

My Rating: 

5cups

officialClaire

Leave a Reply

