5 stars · book reviews · Contemporary

Review: How To Be Brave by E. Katherine Kottaras

HowTobeBrave

How to Be Brave
by E. Katherine Kottaras

An emotional contemporary YA novel about love, loss, and having the courage to chase the life you truly want.

officialsynopReeling from her mother’s death, Georgia has a choice: become lost in her own pain, or enjoy life right now, while she still can. She decides to start really living for the first time and makes a list of fifteen ways to be brave – all the things she’s wanted to do but never had the courage to try. As she begins doing the things she’s always been afraid to do – including pursuing her secret crush, she discovers that life doesn’t always go according to plan. Sometimes friendships fall apart and love breaks your heart. But once in a while, the right person shows up just when you need them most – and you learn that you’re stronger and braver than you ever imagined.

officialreviewSelf-consciousness, self-esteem, fear, pain, suffering, deceit, denial, bullies, death. All her life, Georgia lived in these spheres. Fifteen years later, she decided to wake up and live again. A truly moving book that will eventually make you believe that there is a still a second chance in life and love.

I ended up ugly-crying, hanky-sniffing and eyes-bawling with this book, so emotional and heartbreaking. You’d think this is another story about fulfilling bucket lists. Let me tell you, there’s more to it than accomplishing all these wishes. And Georgia experienced all the gritty stuffs from day one. It wasn’t an easy feat. Me? I don’t know if I could do all those lists Georgia had made. She was relentless, I am not. Tribal dancing, cheer-leading with the bullies? Oh come on!

In my case, I need another book that will tell me how to be brave. Ugh. This book had a lot of feels and I’m filled to the brim with all these emotions. E. Katherine Kottaras’s writing successfully moved me to tears. I had always been conscious of my body weight and appearance and found myself comparing Georgia’s character with mine. I couldn’t help it. The story was powerful and impossible to ignore. How To Be Brave deserved 5 stars for rendering me speechless from this moment on.

Did I mention that I love the book cover, too?
**I received an ARC from Net Galley in exchange for an honest review**

MY RATING: 

5cups

officialClaire

One thought on “Review: How To Be Brave by E. Katherine Kottaras

Leave a Reply

