Review: The Sweet Far Thing by Libba Bray

tsftThe Sweet Far Thing
(Gemma Doyle #3)
by Libba Bray

officialsynopIT HAS BEEN A YEAR OF CHANGE since Gemma Doyle arrived at the foreboding Spence Academy. Her mother murdered, her father a laudanum addict, Gemma has relied on an unsuspected strength and has discovered an ability to travel to an enchanted world called the realms, where dark magic runs wild. Despite certain peril, Gemma has bound the magic to herself and forged unlikely new alliances.

Now, as Gemma approaches her London debut, the time has come to test these bonds. The Order – the mysterious group her mother was once part of – is grappling for control of the realms, as is the Rakshana. Spence’s burned East Wing is being rebuilt, but why now? Gemma and her friends see Pippa, but she is not the same. And their friendship faces its gravest trial as Gemma must decide once and for all what role she is meant for.

officialreviewI know, I just finished reading Rebel Angels less than 24 hours ago, and here I am again. Yes, right after book 2, I immediately read The Sweet Far Thing because I want to finish this series and absorb every detail as much as possible. And boy was I blown away! The best series ever!

The girls are back and the Realms become more sinister than ever in Book 3, The Sweet Far Thing. All have their own agenda and you’re not sure whether it benefits main gal, Gemma Doyle. Pippa and the girls are becoming undead creatures of the realms. But it all rests on their ultimate choice. Unfortunately Pip makes the wrong one, sacrifices Mr. Darcy the bunny and even Wendy to the Winterlands. And so as she becomes more power hungry, Felicity becomes more conflicted.

Felicity, surprise surprise, coincidentally seems to be my new absolute favorite character.  Yes, I had a sudden change of heart. When I thought there’s no way she can become more awesome, she proves me wrong yet again. She’s so freaking well written. I honestly did not see the Pip/Fee thing coming. I remember a part in AGATB when they mention Sapphists. And that made me wonder if any of them were lesbians. But after that I never really thought about it. Fee is such an emotional  character. Strong and independent. I never thought I’d have a girl crush on a fictional character but there she is.

And Ann, Ann, Ann.. Girl, I’m glad you finally grew a backbone. I actually kind of hated you when you backed out and went on to be a governess. You had this great talent and almost threw it away out of fear. I guess you needed those few weeks looking after those brats to make you see the glint of light and take a chance at a better life.

tsft

Oh, the Cave of Sighs. Gemma and Kartik join hands and so begins the Best. Vision. Ever. Although I’m not sure if it was exactly a vision. But as soon as Kartik was riding on that horse I was like, something’s finally gonna happen. Libba Bray leaves it ambiguous as to whether they had sex or not. Personally I like to think they did. At least once before… But, oh well, I’ll just let them be mysterious if they don’t want to be exposed.

And the villain, my villain.. I knew Circe wasn’t bargaining information for magic for no reason. Once Gemma found the dagger she went to her. And she rose out of the well and whipped her butt with magic. Took the dagger. And ran off to help the Winterlands army. Wham!

The birth of May, or Eugena’s birthday, brings chaos to Spence. The pixies, nymphs, and satyrs of the column come to life and go after the school girls. And there’s the case of being chased by trackers on zombie horses, plus a a battle among winterlands creatures and gargoyles. Pure. Genius!

I would like to tell more, but I would be a damned spoiler if I’d do so. So here it it. The verdict: The ending is absolutely perfect. I have fallen in love with these books and plan to read them again in the future.

realms

My RATING: 

5cups

officialClaire

One thought on “Review: The Sweet Far Thing by Libba Bray

  1. Pingback: WWW Wednesday – Oct. 28, 2015 | The Coffeeholic Bookworm

Leave a Reply

