Waking Up from a Broken Heart

Oops, no, it’s not what you think it is. No, I am not heart-broken. Despite what the title above says, I am perfectly fine and still fully in-love with my husband and three kids.

I just wanted to share something I wrote a few years ago when I was still writing short stories and poems, back when I had all the time in the world. Yep, aside from a hopeless romantic, I am also a frustrated writer/poet and I think that would stay until I finally run out of words in my head.

Okay, so here’s something short I did in year 2012. Enjoy.

away

Waking Up from a Broken Heart

Before, it was me who pursued you, chased you, loved you. But you ignored me.

Then one day I was gone. You were surprised. You expected me knocking on your door. I wasn’t there.

I was gone.

I ran away. I went away. I moved away. I had to take my heart with me and leave you.

You searched for me. You wondered where I could be. You wondered why I ran away. You asked my friends about my whereabouts. But no one knew where I’ve gone.

Then you found me, but I wasn’t the same girl anymore.

Finally you asked , “Why? What happened? Did I do something wrong?

I smiled. “No.”

“Where did you go?”

I said, “Nowhere.”

“But you were gone. I looked for you.”

I muttered, “I was just here all along.”

“What have I done?”

I said, “Nothing.”

“So what’s the problem?”

I answered. “That’s it. The problem is Nothing.” 

I just realized, sometimes, loving you gets tiring. I got tired. You’ve been sleeping all the time. I just woke myself up. Now, I am finally awake.  Now, I can finally live.

wakeup

One thought on “Waking Up from a Broken Heart

Leave a Reply

