Something Borrowed, Something Blue

I thought of combining my reviews for Something Borrowed and Something Blue by the talented Emily Giffin. I actually saw the movie first before I read these books, so I got a visual of how the characters looked like. So far, the actors who played Darcy, Rachel and Dex were believable, so I enjoyed reading the books. Okay, so here are my thoughts, but first…

officialsynop

Something Borrowed

Something Borrowed tells the story of Rachel, a young attorney living and working in Manhattan. Rachel has always been the consummate good girl—until her thirtieth birthday, when her best friend, Darcy, throws her a party. That night, after too many drinks, Rachel ends up in bed with Darcy’s fiancé. Although she wakes up determined to put the one-night fling behind her, Rachel is horrified to discover that she has genuine feelings for the one guy she should run from. As the September wedding date nears, Rachel knows she has to make a choice. In doing so, she discovers that the lines between right and wrong can be blurry, endings aren’t always neat, and sometimes you have to risk all to win true happiness.

officialreviewSomething Borrowed is about two best friends – Darcy & Rachel who had been through a lot since grade-school, but ended up as worst enemies because of one guy. Yes, what a stereotype story, you might say. But actually, when you take a look around you, this is reality. I can vouch for that, as I’ve seen two of my former high-school classmates (BFFs) actually got into a cat-fight because of just one guy. Ahh, the memories.

I love Rachel’s character, the down-to-earth & ever faithful friend who finally got up, stood up & fought for her “man”, Dex Thaler. Well, I’d say, he was really Rachel’s from the beginning since they’d been friends since college. Her BFF Darcy is such a total bitch, I couldn’t help but roll my eyes when I read about her “high & mighty escapades!”. But of course, she ain’t gonna let anyone get the good stuff first, so she snagged Dex from her best friend. And so the ramble ensued. The ending was exactly how I wanted it to be, but I know that I still need to read Book 2 so I can finally understand Darcy better. Overall, this was a nice bedtime story that will let you smile before you sleep.

somethingborrowed

Following the smash-hit Something Borrowed comes a story of betrayal, redemption, and forgiveness.

officialsynop

SomethingBlueDarcy Rhone has always been able to rely on a few things: Her beauty and charm. Her fiance, Dex. Her lifelong best friend, Rachel. She never needed anything else. Or so she thinks until Dex calls off their dream wedding and she uncovers the ultimate betrayal. Blaming everyone but herself, Darcy flees to London and attempts to re-create her glamorous life on a new continent. But to her dismay, she discovers that her tried-and-true tricks no longer apply–and that her luck has finally expired. It is only then that she can begin her journey toward redemption, forgiveness, and true love.

officialreviewSomething Blue is a novel for anyone who has ever, even secretly, wondered if the last thing they wanted is really the one thing they ever needed. On the first book, Something Borrowed, I was really mad at Darcy, even though she was the one who lost her fiancee. Rachel’s good nature attitude made her a strong and likable person that’s why Darcy seemed like a bitch to me.

But here in Something Blue, I’m pleased to discover Darcy’s lighter and brighter side. I like the way she transformed from a silly spoiled-rotten brat to a forgiving, understanding woman. Thanks to a London prince charming for waking up the sleeping beauty in her. Something Blue is a indeed a recommended read for all of us who wants to discover surprising moments of friendship, love, and happily-ever-after.

My Rating: 

4cups

officialClaire

3 thoughts on “Something Borrowed, Something Blue

Leave a Reply

