Review: First Comes Love by Katie Kacvinsky

FirstComesLove

First Comes Love (First Comes Love #1)
by Katie Kacvinsky

synopsLike his name, Gray is dark and stormy. Dylan, a girl who is seemingly unable to settle down, is the exact opposite: full of light and life. On the outside, they seem like an unlikely couple. But looks can be deceiving, and besides, opposites attract. What starts as friendship turns into admiration, respect, and caring, until finally these two lone souls find that they are truly in love with each other. But staying in love is never as easy as falling in love. If Dylan and Gray want their love to last, they’re going to have to work at it .

myrev

5cups

Oh yes, finally! Thanks so much to my GR friends, Donita, Henz and AJ who suggested this book. Forgive me because it took me a while to read this. After the ordeal I’ve been through a month ago, I know I deserve this book. Finally, yes I’ve read this. Now let it be known that I’m utterly in love with this novel.

“I couldn’t sleep,” she confesses.
“Why not?” I ask.
She smiles at me. It’s this sweet, innocent smile, and it makes my heart stammer.
“You didn’t kiss me today,” she says. “And I wanted you to.”

Among the book boyfriends I have loved, I think Gray didn’t fit their category. He was brooding, reserved and unforthcoming. Felt like I wouldn’t last a day with him looking morose and feeling detached all the time. But there’s a reason to his aloofness and unorthodox behavior. That I understood. That made me sympathetic and empathetic about him. And that had drawn Dylan to her.

Yes, Dylan, the exact opposite of our main character. Careless, happy, life-of-the-party, danced like nobody’s watching. She didn’t want to just sit and sulk and stay stiff. She faced the world with a smile because she thought the world needs it. When she looked at photographs, she saw the beauty in it and ignored the flaws. She’s the best friend I’ve always wanted to have.

“Because if you’re lucky enough to have people in your life that make you happy, that inspire you, that move you, you need to devour each moment you have together because you never know how many of those moments you have left. These people are sacred.”

Both characters faced challenges and ordeal in their lives but they were dealing with tragedies differently. When Gray saw the world through Dylan’s eyes, he realized what had been missing in his life. He contemplated, he reasoned, he smiled. He changed.

I was definitely having a throwback moment after I read this book, my gosh, I felt like a youngster and I was loving it. I loved Dylan and Gray’s complicated relationship. The way they looked at the brighter side of things, the way they faced the darker side and the way they talked about their lives. The ending was quite hurting but I managed to keep my eyes from tearing up because I know, there’s still a Second Chance.

“I don’t want to lose you,” he says.
I stop because I finally know what I need to say.
“Gray, I’m not yours to lose.”

First Comes Love is like a ticking time-bomb, every minute gets you excited, every first time makes you want for the second and the third. If this book is a lightning, boy I’d be glad to have been struck by it. I think, Katie Kacvinsky might just have climbed her way to my top favorite authors list.

aboutDauthor

Kacvinsky is pronounced: Kaz-vin-ski

Hometown: Wausau, WI

What(Who) Do I Love: My husband. He is tall (essential) and brilliant (very essential) and funny (extremely essential). He is a fish scientist and I love hearing about his research even though the terminology goes over my head. I love my son, Kaleb, because he’s hilarious and my daughter, Sydney, because it’s hard to ever complain when I see her smile. I also love bacon. And dark beers.

The First Book I Ever Wrote: Was in third grade. It was titled: “The Book of Swear Words,” where I wrote down every curse word I could think of, along with a carefully crafted definition. I showed it to my teacher, beaming with pride. He sent me to the principal’s office and called my parents into school. I was banned from the playground for two weeks and my book was destroyed. It obviously didn’t kill my writing ambitions.

To know more about this talented writer, check out her author links:

Website | Twitter | Facebook Goodreads | Amazon

One thought on “Review: First Comes Love by Katie Kacvinsky

  1. Pingback: [Blogger Land Thursday] #1 | BookLand

Leave a Reply

