Review: What Comes of Eating Doughnuts With a Boy Who Plays Guitar

EatDoughnut

What Comes of Eating Doughnuts With a Boy Who Plays Guitar
(Gem City Book 1)
by Nicole Campbell

SynopsisLogoCourtney Ross has lived her whole life doing everything by the book. She’s a top student, the captain of the cheer squad at her Scottsdale high school, and a nervous wreck most of the time. For summer vacation before senior year, she finally has her chance just to relax. She will be spending it with her best friend, Vanessa, in her tiny hometown of Gem City, Ohio. Courtney’s hoping for a chance to breathe, and maybe even for some of Vanessa’s carefree nature to rub off on her.

What she doesn’t expect is Ethan Fisher. Courtney knows she’s in trouble the minute she sees him holding a guitar at her “Welcome Back” party. Her instincts prove to be correct as she gets to know him, and she finds her head spinning. What will this mean for the girl who always plays by the rules?

In her first full-length novel, Nicole Campbell delivers a perfect beach read for the more mature Young Adult crowd. Readers will re-live their first relationships (the good, the bad, and the overwhelming), or imagine the spark of what the future might hold in this story full of the type of intensity only found in young love.

MyReviewLogo

5cups

Who could ever forget their first loves? I did for a time actually, I chose to forget him because of the pain that came in the end, but fortunately, it’s all water under the bridge now.

Until I read What Comes of Eating Doughnuts With a Boy Who Plays Guitar. I loved this book so much. Can I just say that the title itself played a really big role in my younger heart?

In this YA novel by Nicole Campbell, I was transported back to my younger years when I first fell for a guy who played the guitar. Heaven knew how much I loved watching him strum his guitar and serenaded me whenever we had time together. And where else did we often rendezvous? In the Dunkin’ Donuts shop near our school. So yes, I am the girl who loved eating doughnuts with a boy that played the guitar. <<insert blushing cheeks here >> teehee..

Anyway, back to the book, Courtney Ross thought she deserved a break before she finally reached senior year. When Vanessa threw her a party, Courtney met band member Ethan Fisher and sparks flew. Their love for songs and peculiar taste in music drew them together, until they both fell in love helplessly with each other. Add to their mix are their closest friends, Vanessa and Luke whom you’ll be pining and cursing and brooding all throughout the book.

But there was also Ben. The anchor. The pillar. The stone. That someone Courtney could always rely on.

Never have I ever wished for Ben to disappear and destroy that beautiful scene I’ve imagined for Courtney & Ethan. I mean, it wasn’t supposed to be like that, Ethan and Courtney were supposed to be two parts of a whole. They were supposed to be together. Yes, the end part of this story was what really gutted me. Cut like a knife, straight to my heart, pierced it through and through. A hint of hope is what I yearn right now.

Once again, I’m telling you, this had been a really satisfying book and I love it, the more I read it. This is probably one of my favorite books this year! I just love this feeling that takes away decades from my age and makes me feel like 17 again.

AuthorLogo

Nicole Campbell is an English teacher turned author, mother to a beautiful three year old boy, and wife to a self-proclaimed techie. Teenage life consisted of a host of adventures for her, many of which serve as inspiration for her writing.

In addition to writing, she considers herself a Harry Potter aficionado, a member of the Scoobies, a Mars-hmallow, and a huge PLL fan.

AUTHOR LINKS:
Website | Facebook | Goodreads

Leave a Reply

