Review: Blossom Among Flowers by Jay E. Tria

BlossomAmongFlowersBlossom Among Flowers
(Blossom Among Flowers, #1)
by Jay E. Tria

Being invisible can’t be that hard, can it?

Unlike most people, 17-year old Hikaru Saito likes being invisible. Perfectly happy with her nose buried deep in her growing manga collection, she hardly notices how her “harmless hobby” is taking control of her life. But when she fails an important exam, Hikaru is forced to spend more time with her studies and her new tutor, fellow student, campus genius, and golden boy Takeshi Hinata.

Unfortunately for Hikaru, Takeshi’s popularity in school forces the spotlight on her too. His adoring fans don’t like seeing how much time they spend together and punish her for it. Luckily, Tetsuya Sakuishi, a new young and beautiful teacher, is always there to save the day for Hikaru. It doesn’t help that his smile distracts her, however.

Like her tormentors, Hikaru cannot understand why Takeshi keeps showing up in her life long after the tutoring sessions are over. As if the complications of grueling exams and university applications weren’t enough, a haughty socialite mother, an imposing business mogul father, and a princess-in-hiding all come bearing down on Hikaru. Through it all, Takeshi is there, looking at Hikaru like she’s not invisible after all.

MyReviewLogo

5cups

A girl named Hikaru Saito never thought she’d be getting the attention of two well-loved personalities in her school. Imagine being tutored by the sought-after genius slash rich kid slash campus heart-throb Takeshi Hinata and saved from the mean girls by teacher Tetsuya Sakuishi, Hikaru’s life turned upside down from all the stares and bullies she was getting. Suddenly, the girl who only wanted to keep mostly to herself and her manga was surrounded by beauty and love.

“How can you think yourself invisible until now? You’re the only one I see..” [Takeshi Hinata]

I didn’t think that a love story can be effective without the usual villain manipulation or the heart-pounding scenes wherein the lead characters are fatally harmed thus resulting to revenge and death. No, I felt none of that with this book.

Blossom Among Flowers gave me the light giddy vibes usually felt by teenagers falling in love. I liked this story a LOT! Reminded me of one of my favorite JDramas/Manga Hana Yori Dango. Takeshi and Hikaru look cute together, they fit together and I seriously believe they belong together. Their fascination with manga (more on Hikaru’s part) really got me going. (Death Note is a big favorite of mine, too!) The book also gave me a glimpse of something Japanese which I have always wanted to see. Japan is such a beautiful country, my own brother tells me so.

But what I really, really, really liked in this book are the conversations, the “hirits” made by Takeshi. So romantic, so many feels, it’s like I’m reading a script from a famous “telenovela” and I can’t help but scream with delight and grin like a puppy.

“I’m stubborn.. And I won’t stop until I got what I wanted. An what I wanted was to stay here with you. “

Gosh, I’m melting into a puddle after reading that. LOL. Jay E. Tria hit the gold mine with this book. I am truly honored to have read this. Gotta love a writer who could bring her characters to life and make them swoon-worthy!

AuthorLogo

JAY  E.  TRIA

Jay E. Tria writes contemporary Young Adult and New Adult romance about characters that live inside her head, about people she meets and people she wishes to meet. She also reads, daydreams, and blogs. She loves skinny jeans, sneakers, and live gigs. Also, adopted cats. She is not a cool kid.

Blossom Among Flowers, a Japanese high school love story, is her first completed work. Her next book, Songs of Our Breakup, a New Adult romance will be out on August 2015!

AUTHOR LINKS:
Website | Facebook | Twitter | Wattpad

2 thoughts on “Review: Blossom Among Flowers by Jay E. Tria

  1. Pingback: Blossom Among Flowers: Cover 2.0 and Print Book! | Jay E Tria

  2. Pingback: Blossom Among Flowers: Cover 2.0 and Print Book! – Jay E Tria

Leave a Reply

