Review: Princess in Pink (Princess Diaries Vol. V)

PrincessPinkPrincess in Pink
(The Princess Diaries, Volume V)
by Meg Cabot

In her heart of hearts, Mia has but one wish: an evening spent with Michael in a tux and a corsage on her wrist—in other words, the prom. Michael, however, does not seem to share the dream that is the prom. Worse still, a service workers’ strike (with Grandmère and Lilly at the heart of it and on opposite sides) threatens the very existence of this year’s prom.

Will the strike end in time? Can Mia talk Michael out of his anti-prom views? Most importantly, will Mia get to wear her pink prom dress?

MyReviewB4cups

★★★★☆ : Great! I liked this book!

This time around, Princess Mia looks forward to having the best dance of her life. By going to the prom. With her boyfriend, Michael. But the big problem is: Michael doesn’t want anything to do with prom.

Then there’s Grandmere who fires a busboy after something happens to her pet pooch. A strike among busboys ensue and soon Grandmere finds herself lodging in with Mia’s mom under one roof. Sounds exciting, eh? Oh but there’s more! Wait till you hear Mia’s moms exciting baby news!

After a while, you’d think I’ll get tired of reading Princess Diaries. But no. As long as I have this series in my shelf, I intend to finish them. My own sons even commented about my passion for reading this series. They thought I’m already too old for fairytales. Ouch, that quite stings!

But then, I realized, kids are being kids and they already have a lot of opinions when it comes to the books they read. As young as they are (my sons are 10 and 8, respectively), they already know which books make them happy and which ones would make them roll their eyes. In this case, when they see me gawking and controlling my laughter, they retort, “Mom’s being childish again,” and then they will tell me, “It’s okay Mom, if that makes you happy, go on…”

So there, Princess Amelia Migonette Thermopolis Renaldo, aka Mia, makes me happy. I don’t care much anymore if she’s too smitten with her boyfriend or too absorbed in her royal duties. Others might say, she’s too good to be true. But that’s exactly what I want in a princess. Not perfect, not too aristocratic, not too shabby either. Mia and her cohorts make the Princess Diaries more exciting and exhilarating to read!

Leave a Reply

