5 stars · book reviews · mythology · urban fantasy

Review: Destroyed (Soul Keeper 2) by @LAStarkey

DestroyedDestroyed (Soul Keeper #2)

by L. A. Starkey

thesynopsis

Now I lay me down to sleep,
Whom shall I trust my soul to keep?
If I should die before I wake,
I leave to fate my soul to take.

The seal has been broken and the Soul Keeper Prophecy set in motion. Marcus and Nicolas are battling for the heart of one woman, Pandora’s only daughter; however, not everyone is playing by the rules. With interference from both sides of the lines and too many deities with hidden agendas, the trio must take matters into their own hands and look for another ending, one that removes control from fate.

Can they find the missing page from the prophecy that has the ability to change everything?

Will the new stranger they’ve been given as a guide assist or mislead them?

Will Samantha make a decision on who it is that she truly loves, saving one and destroying the other?

What if her choice is no choice at all?

my review

★★★★★: Awesome!!! I really loved this book! (Highly recommended)

The story continues where it left off…. Sam woke up in a hospital after she collapsed during the dance. Her last thought was about her talking to Julie in a rest room, warning her that nothing was as it seemed. When she regained consciousness, she was told Julie was already dead for a week, causing her to freak out and wail and scream.

Meanwhile, in Mount Olympus, Prometheus revealed something that would eventually break the prophesy of the Soul Keeper, the hidden piece to the puzzle. But the very beautiful and cunning goddess Aphrodite had another thing in mind. She journeyed to Hades’ lair and soon, together with Persephone, they descended to Earth and took matters in their own hands.

Brothers Nick and Marcus, both fighting for Sam’s feelings, realized they had to work as One, because that’s what and how they should be.

Just when I thought I was already hit with bombs in book 1, Destroyed Book 2 hit me with a lightning that shocked the beejessus out of me. LA Starkey valiantly transformed Samantha and had become the woman she was prophesied to be. I love her character development, from whiny scared little girl to brave and determined woman. If I were in her shoes, I wouldn’t know either which one to choose – Nick or Marcus.

But I know things will have to change in Book 3.The cliffhanger ending really jolted me wide awake, had me breathing hard as I anticipate what happens next to Sam and the brothers. This series sure got me fired up! Greek Gods and titans, be damned!

Other book in the series:Deceived

Deceived (Soul Keeper Book 1)

about-author

L.A. Starkey is the author of the upcoming Soul Keeper Series, a supernatural young adult series, and The Liarus Detective Series, a supernatural middle grade series.

She is a CPA by trade, a church planter and entrepreneur at heart; however, writing and reading are passions she just can’t help but indulge in. With more ideas than one person should be allowed, she is blessed to have a muse that doesn’t seem to take a vacation and more energy that one might consider healthy.

She writes under the following pen names:

Kate Thomas – NA/Adult Paranormal
Isabella James – Sci-fi/Fantasy
Lauren Elizabeth – Adult Contemporary Romance

Check out more about Laurie on her Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon

One thought on “Review: Destroyed (Soul Keeper 2) by @LAStarkey

Leave a Reply

