Review: Tuck Everlasting

Tuck Everlasting
by Natalie Babbitt

synopsispink

Doomed to – or blessed with – eternal life after drinking from a magic spring, the Tuck family wanders about trying to live as inconspicuously and comfortably as they can. When ten-year-old Winnie Foster stumbles on their secret, the Tucks take her home and explain why living forever at one age is less a blessing than it might seem. Complications arise when Winnie is followed by a stranger who wants to market the spring water for a fortune.

myreviewPink

This is my second Natalie Babbitt book.  The first one I read was The Search for Delicious, a short fantasy-kiddie story that my children appreciated. I liked it because my kids learned a lesson from searching something delicious and what it truly meant.

With Tuck Everlasting, definitely written for a more mature audience, I had a moment when I wished for the fountain of youth to come to life.

Yes, there was a minute when I wished for immortality. But I held back with that thought because I don’t want to stay young forever while my loved ones enjoy growing old.

I was like Winnie Foster who wanted freedom and youth, but I realized that it also meant a heavy responsibility is on your shoulders.

Surprisingly, I just read somewhere that this had been turned into a movie. Of course, I haven’t seen it yet, so I better check on it soon! (I really should watch it – Alexis Bledel was in it! Yay!)

theauthor-pink

Natalie Babbitt

Natalie Babbitt was born Natalie Zane Moore on July 28, 1932, in Dayton, Ohio. She attended Laurel School for Girls, and then Smith College. She has 3 children and is married to Samuel Fisher Babbitt. She is a grandmother of 3 and lives in Rhode Island.

She is also a board member of the National Children’s Book and Literacy Alliance a national not-for-profit that actively advocates for literacy, literature, and libraries.

Website Wikipedia | Goodreads 

One thought on “Review: Tuck Everlasting

Leave a Reply

