Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

everything2

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

My disease is as rare as it is famous. It’s a form of Severe Combined Immunodeficiency, but basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in fifteen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives. New next door neighbors. I look out the window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black t-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly. I want to learn everything about him, and I do. I learn that he is funny and fierce. I learn that his eyes are Atlantic Ocean-blue and that his vice is stealing silverware. I learn that when I talk to him, my whole world opens up, and I feel myself starting to change—starting to want things. To want out of my bubble. To want everything, everything the world has to offer.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

reviewko

5cups

Once upon a time, there was a girl whose entire life was a lie.

Madeline Whittier had always been sick. She’d got the SCID which meant she was allergic to a lot of things, almost everything, and she lived in a bubble. People needed to get decontaminated first before anyone approached her. No one could ever touch her. No one.

And then a new boy next door came along. Dressed in all black, loved climbing walls, preferred staying on the rooftop, threw a Bundt cake that never got damaged, and finally connected with her through email. Suddenly, Madeline wanted to live like a normal girl. Sadly, she couldn’t.

But love seemed to always find a way to bridge two people together. Love existed in the most clinical places. Love was a risk they were willing to take.

Everything’s a risk. Not doing anything is a risk. 

Everything, Everything had everything I like in a book. Family, relationship, drama, deception, betrayal, romance and moving on.

Spontaneous combustion is a real thing. I’m certain of it.

I guess I am indeed a thorough reader because I was able to read the entire book in one day, up to the Acknowledgements section. Damn, by the time Nicola Yoon reads this review, I will have cried and wept and grinned and sighed. This book was good… no wait, it was great! The way she wrote the story, it was hypnotic. The Instant Messages, the email exchanges, the day-to-day encounters, the nighttime rituals – all of these added oomph and flavor to the story.

Love. Love makes people crazy. Loss of love makes people crazy.

Love.. I love everything about this book! I’ll be the craziest woman if I didn’t fall for Maddy & Olly. Ti’s a highly recommended read! ‘Nuff said!

P.S.

The book cover is gorgeous! I can’t find fault in it, it’s so lovely!

NOTE: I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

AuthorAboutThe

NICOLA YOON

Nicola Yoon grew up in Jamaica (the island) and Brooklyn (part of Long Island). She currently resides in Los Angeles, CA with her husband and daughter, both of whom she loves beyond all reason. Everything, Everything is her first novel. Author Links: Website Twitter

Leave a Reply

