Review: CINDER by Marissa Meyer

Cinder
The Lunar Chronicles # 1
by Marissa Meyer

synopsHumans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

myrev★★★★★: Awesome!!! I really loved this book! (Highly recommended)

This book had been touted as a science-fiction/dystopian/fairytale retelling of my favorite character – Cinderella, but readers are surprised to read about cyborgs, medroids, Lunars and such. The truth is, before I read this book, images of the wicked stepmother and her two evil daughters plus one handsome Prince and a gentle fairy godmother filled my mind.

Imagine my surprise when I realize only the evil stepmom & one evil stepdaughter were there (in the first few chapters anyway). Okay, there’s Prince Kaito but he is nothing quite like the Prince Charming we’ve known in the fairytale. And there was no glass slipper at all, but a wired metal foot made the scene. And there’s a plague and Moon creatures threatening to control the world. Oh yes, this isn’t your ordinary Disney Princess Cinderella.

Linh Cinder is actually a mechanic. She’s THE expert when it comes to repairing androids, portscreens and all tech-related stuffs. That’s the reason why Prince Kaito of New Beijing seeks for her help to fix Nainsi, his personal android. Well, there was an attraction between the two, but Linh Cinder denies it because she thinks she’s not capable of blushing.

Why?

Because she’s a cyborg! But as the story progresses, we’ll soon learn that Linh Cinder is every bit important in Prince Kai’s life and in the whole Commonwealth. Her greatest nemesis – not the wicked legal guardian Adri, but someone else, someone more powerful and magical… someone from the Lunar realm.

I never know why I didn’t read this book immediately. I mean, I got this book more than a year ago but so far, I only managed to read it today. Yes, and I finished it today, too. I didn’t stop until my back broke, until my eyes squinted, until my neck stiffened. Until I thought I turned into a cyborg.

Yep, I think I have the Cinder fever (or might it be the plague) right now. It’s crazy, I know, but at least I can now relate with my friends who have finished reading it.

I commend the author, Marissa Meyer for creating a world that is dystopically (is that even a word?) magnificent and awesomely genius! And then the cliffhanger ending? It was really something I look forward to! I can’t wait to devour Scarlet!

aboutDauthor

MARISSA MEYER

Marissa Meyer lives near Seattle with her husband and their three cats. She’s a fan of most things geeky (Sailor Moon, Firefly, color-coordinating her bookshelf…) and will take any excuse to put on a costume. She may or may not be a cyborg.

Follow her blog or sign up for her newsletter at

http://www.marissameyer.com/

Other Author Links:

Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Pinterest | Goodreads

Leave a Reply

