Review: DELAYED by Mary Chris Escobar

DelayedDelayed
by Mary Chris Escobar

BlurbCarolyn’s life has gone pretty much according to plan. She’s followed all the rules. Her star is rising at work, her boyfriend is amazing and she lives in a perfectly decorated apartment. A delayed flight throws her life and plans off schedule. What she learns, stuck overnight in the airport, has her questioning everything and puts her face to face with her own missed connection.

myreviewG★★★★★: Awesome!!! I really loved this book! (Highly recommended)

Carolyn and Dave got engaged shortly after New Year’s Day and everything was great between them. Until that one fateful night when Carolyn’s flight was delayed. She bumped into Adam in a bar while waiting for her flight, and the two had a short-lived moment which ended with a kiss. Emotions ran high, at least for Carolyn, who couldn’t seem to shake off Adam’s confession to her.

Carolyn returned to her apartment and saw her engagement ring, and reality hit her as she realized she was already engaged to Dave. What kind of future lies ahead of her?

I met Carolyn a week ago through Kate & Ben’s story, Neverending Beginnings. I knew then that Carolyn was a strong character, probably someone I would love to meet. When I read her story in Delayed, I thought I watched her story come to life. This book is freakingly realistic!

I mean, I could actually see my past self in her, had I read the book 15 years ago, when I was having doubts with my past relationship. I’m not really one for giving second chances, (brutal, yeah) but if what happened to Carolyn in the airport happened to me, I might have gone crazy and flew to the moon, just to be able to escape the predicament I was in. But Carolyn was a different woman, a better woman than me, stronger, wiser. True, she might have mistook her longtime crush / attraction to love, but to have come up and faced the music and apologized for what she’d done, that was quite something. The author did a great job in developing her character and in turning this story a great read.

I don’t know how Mary Chris Escobar did it, but she basically renewed my faith in the saying, “Love is lovelier the second time around.”

about authorR

MARY CHRIS ESCOBAR

Mary Chris writes women’s fiction. She was destined to write romance from a young age (as a child, her stuffed animals always got their happily-ever-afters). She lives in Richmond, Virginia in a renovated parking garage with her husband, and hangs out at her website, on Twitter and just about anywhere with good coffee or craft beer.

BookLinksG

Facebook | Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Goodreads

Leave a Reply

