Review: Finding Ever After

FindingEverAfter

Finding Ever After
(Ever After #1)
by Stephanie Hoffman McManus

Blurb

After three years of trying to escape her past, Jaxyn is finally done running, and returning home to Boston to face the friends she abandoned and the nightmare that still wakes her in the night.

Back in the childhood home that holds all of her memories from before life showed her that ‘happily ever afters’ don’t come easy, she is unsure of what the future holds. The one thing she definitely wasn’t expecting was Kyden McCabe, the hot, tattooed and pierced musician she meets her first night back.

All she ever wanted as a little girl was to be swept off her feet by a prince, but Ky is nothing like the heroes from the stories her mom used to read to her. He’s arrogant, frustrating and completely wrong for her. He lives his life one night stand at a time and she knows he’s nothing but trouble.

Still haunted by her past and afraid to let anyone see the scars she hides, she fights the attraction she feels for Kyden and wonders if she’ll ever find her storybook ending. Then a monster from her past threatens to rip away her chances before she realizes that maybe she already found it.

myreviewG

★★★★★: Awesome!!! I really loved this book! (Highly recommended)

I was breathless and emotionally charged after reading this book. Finding Ever After is full of surprises and Stephanie Hoffman McManus is impressive.

Jaxyn wanted to find her prince, her knight in shining armor, the one who would treat her like a princess. After her mom died, this wish just vanished. She ran away and was held captive. Her fairytale turned to nightmare and the evil villain in her story tormented her and made he wish she were dead.

When Jax came back to her hometown, the fog of doubt that plagued her was lifted, and then she met Kyden. Could he be the prince she’d long been waiting for? And what if the villain returned? Would her fairy godmother finally appear and help her?

“How will I be able to tell the difference between a prince and one of the bad guys?”
She thought about it for a moment. “You know how much I love you, how special you are to me and how I would do anything for you, give you the entire world?”
“Yeah.”
“How do you know?”
“I don’t know.”
“Yes, you do,” she said softly and encouragingly. “Come on sweetheart, how do you know I love you?”
“I just do.” It was hard to explain how I knew it, I just did. “I see it when you look at me, when you smile at me for no reason and when you laugh at my jokes that even Bas doesn’t think are funny. And even when you get mad at me or are disappointed in me, I still see it. I feel it when you hug me and hold my hand when I’m scared or sad, and you always take care of me.”
“Where do you feel it baby girl?”
“In here,” I answered her, raising my hand over my heart.
“Exactly Jaxyn. You’ll know when it’s real. You’ll feel it and see it in the way he looks at you and treats you. Trust that, and most importantly, you need to remember that, no matter what, you are worthy of that kind of love.”

I think I lost my breath for about a moment there.

Those were the heartfelt words uttered by Jaxyn’s mom a few weeks before she died. I swear I got a little teary eyed after reading that. Jaxyn’s relationship with her mom was admirable, it was sweet and true. So I understood how hurt she was when her mom died and how devastated she felt when she was thrown to his father’s other family instead and grew up tormented, unloved and broken.

I thought the author was a genius because she easily made me sob like a baby who spilled her milk, and then she made me laugh like a girl who watched a Friends episode. Finding Ever After is a story that swept me off my feet, had me clinging for dear life, and made me believe in happily ever after. Until the next story happened.

about authorR

Stephanie Hoffman McManus Page

I am a storyteller, a lover of love stories, a dreamer. My love of books started the minute I learned to read. I consumed them like they were my sustenance and never stopped.

Words have the power to open our eyes and hearts to new ideas and new worlds.

Anything is possible between the between the pages of a book. I’ve had my heart broken and then mended again, I’ve laughed, cried and wanted to scream in frustration. A good author has the ability to make you feel their story and relate to their characters. That’s all I want to do and am blessed to be able to make writing my full time career.

I am from the lovely state of Washington, the rainy side. I am also a mother, a Nerf gun proficient, a Lego builder extraordinaire, a sideline cheerleader and a bedtime story reader. That is the greatest job in the world. Writing and being able to share my stories with the world is just the cherry on top.

AUTHOR LINKS:

Amazon | Facebook | Twitter

Leave a Reply

