Review: The DUFF by Kody Keplinger

DuffThe DUFF
by Kody Keplinger
Pub Date Feb 25 2015

Seventeen-year-old Bianca Piper may not be the prettiest girl in her high school, but she has a loyal group of friends, biting wit, and a spot-on BS detector. She’s also way too smart to fall for the charms of a man-slut and slimy school hottie Wesley Rush, who calls Bianca the Duff – the designated ugly fat friend – of her crew.

But things aren’t so great at home and Bianca, desperate for a distraction, ends up kissing Wesley. Worse, she likes it. Eager for escape, Bianca throws herself into a secret enemies-with-benefits relationship with him.

Until it all goes horribly wrong. It turns out Wesley isn’t such a bad listener, and his life is pretty screwed up, too. Suddenly Bianca realizes with absolute horror that she’s falling for the guy she thought she hated more than anyone.

With a wry and tell-it-like-it-is voice, New York Times Bestselling novel The DUFF is a witty and poignant story of a teenager struggling with the rules of high school attraction, along with the breaking down of her relationships with family and friends. It is a novel about what it means to be sexy, in a world where we feel we have to be perfect!

myreviewblink

★★★★☆ : Great! I liked this book!

This is a totally entertaining book! The story or plot was close to my heart because I felt what Bianca felt when I was in highschool/college. Yep, there was a time when I became the designated ugly, fat friend, plus weird, nerdy and crybaby. I didn’t attract guys, I was more of a wallflower with I was with my clique of friends. So yeah, I felt sorry Bianca like how I felt sorry for myself.

But this book is full of surprises. When Bianca was feeling down with her school and home problems, she turned to an unlikely ally. She turned to the one man who called her Duff in the first place; she turned to Wesley for support and stolen kisses. Bianca found a friend in her own worst enemy.

I liked that there was great strength & development among the characters, Wesley’s particularly. I never thought I’d like him. Seriously, on the first few chapters of the book, I wanted to bash and hammer Wesley because he was obnoxious and he had the audacity to talk to Bianca in order to get into the pants of her friends. I didn’t care whether he looked really hot and charming, because I was really hot and bothered by him. Ha! When I got to the succeeding pages, Wesley finally earned my approval after he punched Bianca’s dad. No, I am not suggesting that guys should hurt their girlfriend’s dads, oh no, no!

These are my kind of books, a coming-of-age kind of story that is willing to beat the norm and go against the odds. I felt light and wonderful after reading the book.

Have I watched the movie adapation of this book? No, I haven’t. I heard from my friends that the movie is entirely different from the book. Totally different! But hey, I don’t mind. I would still love to watch it! Really soon! Wonder why? Because Rob Amell is starring as Wesley Rush. Just. Perfect!

Check out the movie trailer:

I received this book for free from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

theAuthorBlink

Kody Keplinger was born and raised in small town western Kentucky, where she began her writing career after penning the New York Times and USA Today bestseller, The DUFF, at age seventeen. The DUFF, now a major motion picture, was chosen as an YALSA Top Ten Quick Pick for Reluctant Young Readers and a Romantic Times Top Pick. Kody has since written other books for both young adult and middle grade readers. When she isn’t writing, Kody is posting about fashion and body positivity on her Instagram, chatting about her favorite TV shows on Twitter, or making videos for her YouTube account. Kody is also the co-founder of Disability in KidLit and a teacher at the Gotham Writers Workshops in NYC.

Kody is active on social media, so feel free to reach out to her on:
Blog  | Twitter | Facebook |  Instagram |  YouTube.

One thought on “Review: The DUFF by Kody Keplinger

Leave a Reply

