authors · mondays

Musing Mondays (Feb.2)

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by Miz B of ShouldBeReading. This meme asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer:

** NOTE the NEW LIST of PROMPTS! **

I’m currently reading…
Up next I think I’ll read…
I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
I can’t wait to get a copy of…
I wish I could read ___, but…
I blogged about ____ this past week…

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: What do you think about re-purposing old books (eg. into art journals, etc)? Why?

NOTE: I have already written & posted this entry before MizB has posted her musing of the week. So I hope it’s okay if I shall proceed with my first choice/random question: Has any author ever had a huge influence on your reading? Who, and why?

My answer: NORA ROBERTS
Honestly, I started reading Nora Roberts again seven years ago (2008). The last I had seen an NR book was in 2005, back when I had all the time in the world. I remember reading The Villa, Montana Sky, Sacred Sins, Carnal Innocence, Private Scandals, For Now, Forever & Impulse.noraprivate

When I got married (in 2005) and had kids (2006), I wasn’t able to read any book for about two years. ANY Book! Only then in 2008 when I went back to reading again. And that was because of the craze that Stephanie Meyer started – yes, the first book I read again after two years was Twilight! I would like to credit Meyer for making me read again, but I realized, it was really Nora Roberts who influenced me a lot in reading.

When I finally came around to reading Nora Roberts again, I felt good in reading again. For me, Nora Roberts writes with passion and I can feel it on all her stories. She has this magnetic appeal that makes me attracted to her characters. For me, that’s a huge plus! So I started reading Roberts again, at that time, with a trilogy, which Nora is famous for. The book, the Circle Trilogy was sent to me by my brother when he was in Japan, he thought I’d be pleased with NR. He wasn’t mistaken!

I instantly fell in love with the supernatural twins – Hoyt & Cian – and I couldn’t put the books down. in three weeks, i was able to complete the trilogy!

image snagged from agendamag.com

The next series I read was about the McGregors and the Concannon sisters – Irish Born.. which i finished in April,2010, then I met Bride Quartet… and so many NR books thereafter.

Hoping to read more of Nora Roberts in the next few weeks!

9 thoughts on “Musing Mondays (Feb.2)

  1. I have recently rediscovered Nora, too, and even read a few books in her J. D. Robb series…I have The Bride’s Quartet on my nightstand…waiting. I guess I’m thinking I won’t pick up the first one until I’m ready to read them all…but that’s silly, right?

    Thanks for sharing…and here’s my MUSING MONDAYS POST

    Like

    1. I know how you feel, sometimes I don’t want to start a series if I’m not all heart and soul to reading it yet.. But I think you will love The Bride Quartet, I did 🙂 I haven’t started on any of Nora’s JD Robb books, I plan to read the very first JB Robb book so I won’t get confused with the other characters I’ll meet. Thanks for your visit 🙂

      Like

  2. How awful not being able to read for that long but I’m a mom so I know exactly what you mean! 🙂 I haven’t read Nora Roberts in years because I’ve been taking a break from romance – see my MM this week! But I really liked Roberts’ Garden Trilogy – Black Rose, Blue Dahlia and Red Lily, and also the Villa. Here’s my linkhttp://hollykerr.ca/monday-musings-excited-romance-novels/

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s wonderful when a book or an author just sparks that love of reading in you again, isn’t it? I know what you mean about Nora Roberts, for me it was harry potter. I’d read all day at work and slowly fell out of love with it and then the HP books came out and I was hooked again. That euphoria, it’s SUCH a high! Thanks for sharing and for commenting at mine http://editingeverything.com/weekly-events/monday-musings-5/#comment-3825

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

