Review: Creatus: They Exist (The Prequel)

creatus-prequelTitle: CREATUS (They Exist) The Prequel
by Carmen DeSousa

For four thousand years, creatus have concealed themselves from the humans who hunted them almost to
extinction. Now, one creatus will endanger them all by breaking one of their laws: falling in love–with a human.

Warning, if you haven’t read the Creatus Series, this prequel doesn’t offer answers about Creatus; it only sets the stage. This prequel starts fourteen years ago, so you can get a look into the characters’ lives leading up to the full story. Prepare yourself for a cliffhanger ending… Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

Rating note: Although this story would probably receive a PG-13 rating, the content is appropriate for ages sixteen and older due to alcohol and drug use. Neither, however, is ever glorified. There are also some scenes of driving under the influence. Please know that I do not condone these actions, and they are only used to display the character’s state at the time.

officialreview

Let me just say, I knew right from the very beginning that I would love this book. I have read one Carmen DeSousa book before (She Belongs to Me) and I thought it was a great read.

Creatus: They Exist is the story behind Derrick’s “stalkerish” behavoir towards Kristina. I haven’t actually read Book 1 (Creatus) but I’ve seen the book blurb, so I got the idea. Eventually, I was drawn to Derrick’s world, captivated by his protective, brotherly concern to Janelle, intrigued by his real identity.

There are a lot of things I liked and was glad of in this book.
I’m glad there’s no sex scene in the story (a welcomed change after reading a number of erotica lately!)
I’m glad that this is a paranormal book that doesn’t involve vampires.
I’m glad that Carmen DeSousa left me imagining and hanging at the end. Yes, I like that feeling of thirsting for more!

Oh, by the way, I also love the cover art, it is simply beautiful!

My Rating: 

4cups

officialClaire

2 thoughts on “Review: Creatus: They Exist (The Prequel)

  1. Thank you for the lovely review! I’m sorry I’m just seeing this. I get behind, but I always try to catch up. I’m so glad you enjoyed the prequel, and I hope the good feelings continue through the rest of the series.

    And it’s true…kids don’t lie when it’s about their mommy. You ARE the most beautiful woman in the world in their eyes…and past that…it doesn’t matter anyway, does it? 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

