Review: CRUXIM by Karin Cox

cruxim

Cruxim (Fallen Angel/Vampire #1)
by Karin Cox

officialsynopAmedeo is Cruxim, a mysterious, immortal fallen angel. Destined to seek redemption as a vampire hunter, he quenches his insatiable hunger on vampire blood. But when the object of his passion, the novice nun Joslyn, is turned into a vampire and enters a vampire coven, Amedeo’s worlds collide. Shattered by the loss of his beloved, he vows to rid the world of vampires once and for all, even if it means destroying Josyln in the process.

A Paranormal Game of Cat and Mouse
Joining Amedeo on his quest to rid the world of the undead is Sabine. Half-woman, half-lioness, she is a Sphinx, a Guardian who has protected humans from vampires since the dawn of time. Yet Sabine comes to this fight pursued by her own enemies. An evil scientist, Dr. Claus Gandler, knows the secret of Sabine’s mythological past, vowing to torment her for eternity or destroy her forever.

Immortal Ever After
Captured by the evil doctor, Amedeo and Sabine are paraded as sideshow freaks in the Circus of Curiosities. Only vampire Joslyn has the power to intercede. Will she prove Amedeo’s redemption, or his destruction?

officialreview

This was the first time I heard of a Cruxim, so of course, I got curious. It turned out, curiosity really did kill the cat … and rose again. The author, Karin Cox made this book very easy to read so I give props to her. I really appreciated it how she carefully visualized Amedeo, a dark, driven, fallen angel and how this immortal vampire-killer lived his solitary life. And I specially liked how she portrayed vampires for what they really were – cunning, ruthless, bloodsuckers.

Likewise, there was Sabine, a mythical or mythological creature called a Sphinx, a character I don’t normally found in YA/Fantasy books. A quite intriguing half-human, half-lioness. I found myself rejoicing a little whenever she came back alive every morning like a Phoenix. Sadly though, during the day, when she’s not free, she’s at the hands of a cruel mad scientist who painstakingly killed her every night. Yes, I preferred her more than Joslyn, and I was equally fascinated with her being. I look forward to reading more about her on the second book.

Karin Cox is talented and witty and poetic. She knows how to characterize the villains in her book. Bertran & Gandler were equally sick and disgusting, I definitely disdain Bertran for what he had done to Amedeo and his love interest. His ultimate end was a satisfaction to me. Gandler on the other hand, was a psycho who rejoiced in investigating and experimenting otherworldly creatures. The epitome of most villainous character.

The story was unique and it had a considerable amount of action and adventure. Inasmuch as I would like to tell you more of Amedeo and Sabine and the vampires, I am afraid I might give the whole story right away. But the fact remains that Karin Cox is on her road to stardom. She writes really well and she’s remarkable. If this was her first foray in writing, I didn’t realize it. If I were to compare her the fashion world, I’d say, she belongs to the High-Fashion society.

My rating: 

4cups

officialClaire

Leave a Reply

